I wished for Better Graphics

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: I wished for Better Graphics

Postby Chris » Sat Dec 05, 2020 5:07 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:There's one thing that's often forgotten with such high refresh rates, though:

They literally reduce the time the CPU has to produce both the game logic and the scene rendering in half, so this may end up having to choose between higher frame rates and more complex gameplay.

Not necessarily. Games can update logic at a fixed rate but render at a much higher rate by interpolating between the two logic states. With rendering and frame interpolation on a separate thread, you could run the logic update over multiple rendered frames, as long as the app is properly structured to calculate a new logic state separately from what the rendering thread is using to draw. Once the new state is ready, there would need to be some synchronization for the rendering thread to begin using the now-complete state, but it doesn't need to run the whole logic at that point in between drawing. Modern games split physics, AI, pathing, and other updates into different threads that update at different rates (the Bullet physics library does this; physics internally update at a set delta to help maintain stable simulations and keep CPU load in check, but the app can step the physics simulation with more fine-grained timing that gets you interpolated "physics frames").
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Re: I wished for Better Graphics

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Dec 06, 2020 1:13 am

So in other words, for this to be performant we'll need 8 core CPUs... :mrgreen:
Let's wait for the next generation of computers then when everybody got one. :twisted:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: I wished for Better Graphics

Postby zenlikecreature » Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:37 am

Thank you for the replies, it's been a long time because I had difficulty logging in.
VSync is indeed beneficial. I'm also using "speed" rendering mode but I still wish the game looked better.

[Pixels]
I believe that in 320x200 pixels look better in software mode - i.e. textures resize more cleanly than in hardware mode (which I prefer to use) and the weapon sprite snaps to pixel grid, which in hardware mode has annoying distortions. Would it be possible to make hardware mode behave more like software mode in that scaling respect?

[Melt and other transitions]
I remember I also wanted to mention that the wipe effect is kinda broken in GZDoom - in most configurations it's too slow to endure and when it animates a bit quicker it's still too slow. It may be some complex issue but perhaps just speeding it up will make it usable.

[Toggle Run]
There is a toggleable key for running in GZDoom but it displays annoying notifications:
"CL_RUN" = "TRUE" ; "CL_RUN" = "FALSE"
It would objectively be better not to have those on the screen.
zenlikecreature
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2020

Re: I wished for Better Graphics

Postby Darkcrafter » Mon Jan 18, 2021 1:49 pm

I think you mean that 320x200 doesn't stretch to your monitor resolution evenly so the pixels appear to have different size each? Crispy Doom and its forks have a feature called "Smooth Pixels" try it and if it works please tell us that was a thing you meant.

https://imgur.com/a/6EOZ5ek
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Southern Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: I wished for Better Graphics

Postby De-M-oN » Thu Feb 11, 2021 8:31 am

2 happens when you disable vertical sync. In that case the engine creates more frames than the display can show and you only see parts of each causing this tearing effect. The remedy is easy: Enable vertical sync in the video mode menu.

Turn VSync on in your graphics driver, because in GZDoom its just adaptive sync

Any FPS beyond your monitor's refresh rate (usually 60) is absolutely useless, you'll never even see the difference because the monitor can only show frames at a certain rate to start with.


Still feels a LOT better without vsync, especially on 60hz monitor.
VSync alone already adds inputlag and inputs feel in general much better on 500 fps than on 60fps imo.
Everything feels smoother.

Also this shows better results on uncapped fps at 60hz, instead on 60fps limit (even without vsync, just fps limit)
https://youtu.be/OX31kZbAXsA
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

Re: I wished for Better Graphics

Postby ZellSF » Mon Feb 15, 2021 8:39 am

Darkcrafter wrote:I think you mean that 320x200 doesn't stretch to your monitor resolution evenly so the pixels appear to have different size each? Crispy Doom and its forks have a feature called "Smooth Pixels" try it and if it works please tell us that was a thing you meant.

https://imgur.com/a/6EOZ5ek

The reason 320x200 looks so bad in GZDoom's hardware render isn't because of uneven pixel scaling. Not sure what it is though, differences in how lightning is refreshed?

320x200 scaling in GZDoom also wouldn't have the same need for that option as it has a lot more scaling headroom. Scaling from 320x200 to 1920x1080 gives a lot less artifacts than scaling from 640x400 to 1920x1080.

I'm a bit confused about the need for hardware mode. Surely if you're going for 320x200, you're going for some sort of authenticity and don't need any of the hardware render features anyway? Just use software mode?
ZellSF
 
Joined: 13 Aug 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Previous

Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests