Screen.DrawModel

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Screen.DrawModel

Postby Accensus » Sat Apr 04, 2020 6:53 am

For drawing 3D elements on the HUD. Not that I have the slightest idea how exactly it'd work. Just throwing it out there as a suggestion. I suppose it could have a vector3 pos and vector3 orientation (angle, pitch, roll).
User avatar
Accensus
Does not use federally approved humor.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen.DrawModel

Postby Nash » Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:36 am

I think the setup needs to be a little more sophisticated. Ideally there'd be commands for you to setup the "virtual room" the model will be placed in, before it gets rendered to a texture. So camera position and angle, and lighting, as well as the room colours also needs to be taken into account.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Screen.DrawModel

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Apr 04, 2020 10:01 am

Indeed. This is a lot more complex and definitely not trivial to use because to make a 3D HUD look good the modder needs a good command of how 3D works.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests