Export bots to zscript...

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Export bots to zscript...

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:56 pm

...because hardcoded bots pathfinding and aiming on/with non vanilla maps/weapons is questionable at best.

I think I could do it myself, but Im not sure from what I must start.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:01 pm

The bots are entirely unsupported code, that also means not getting help with their implementation.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:07 pm

entirely unsupported code

You mean its bad? Or some other problems?
Im not up to date with bots and why they was removed from engine and returned back at some point.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:16 pm

It means that this code was written 20 years ago by a person who hasn't been part of the Doom community for just as long. None of the active developers has ever invested any time in this code aside from keeping it from totally breaking apart.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:22 pm

So its more "write new bot code from scratch and then export it to zscript" than "export already existing code to zscript"", got it.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sun Jul 28, 2019 3:50 am

Rachael and I talked about this long ago. Exporting bots really would mean having to rewrite the whole thing from scratch. Perhaps just only providing the base skeleton for the AI then having someone else do the rest of the job.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Rachael » Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:14 am

If anyone else wants to code ZScript bots, my only real requirement is that they modify the player input state in order to move, etc. And that they're smart enough to handle non-vanilla weapons/items.

But otherwise, yeah, it's pretty simple to create a GZDoom where most of the ZCajun code is removed.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Deybar_TECH » Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:55 pm

I adore and use the (bot) because I don't have internet at home. :wub:

and for years I thought they were only available in (zandronum & skulltag)
I recently discovered that they can be used in any (zdoom).
and I would like to work with them now that I can.


My opinion is that a console command called (] add BotActor "name") is added and that this actor be treated as a bot and derived from the PLAYERPAWN or a new BOT_PLAYERPAWN. This actor should be able to appear in the scores, be hated as a player and also be able to (revive / respawn) automatically.

its operation as intelligence, ability to use doors, pick up objects and use weapons would be determined by the modders with the help of ZScript if a function similar to (tick) is replaced and that inside only has defined (A_Chase) to work as a (Monster) with the flag (FRIENDLY)
User avatar
Deybar_TECH
Siempre vuelo mas alla de los <∟imites>
 
Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Location: La Paz - BOLIVIA

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Kinsie » Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:32 pm

Opinions are nice, but in this particular situation, code patches are nicer.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Export bots to zscript...

Postby Apeirogon » Thu Aug 29, 2019 1:38 pm

Marisa Kirisame wrote:Rachael and I talked about this long ago. Exporting bots really would mean having to rewrite the whole thing from scratch. Perhaps just only providing the base skeleton for the AI then having someone else do the rest of the job.

If you mean pathfinding, it can be done by adding read only thinker field to sector struct which would contain, and monitor, all data about neighbor and "self" sectors, like area, size, height, lines status, accessibility (for actors) to other sectors, stuff for creating and using A* graph, discrete math and graph theory stuff.
But Im not sure that sector struct is suitable place for this, since Im not familiar with gzdoom well enough.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests