Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:25 pm

Fantastic!

If I'm correct, this is one of the last obvious things that are still tied to a 4:3 ratio and thereby look off on a modern system.

I can imagine anyone with a mod in progress that uses 4:3 images running off to make widescreen versions (I don't now, but I suspect BoA will be an early adopter ;) ).
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Rachael » Mon Jul 22, 2019 7:48 pm

Split off the unpleasant fuckery, reopening thread. Guy wound up sending a nasty PM and getting himself banned, anyhow. No real reason to keep this locked, now.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Tue Jul 23, 2019 5:27 am

So, one of my doubts about this right now is how I should handle cases where there are "mixed" sizes, so to say. I guess I could split the mapinfo option into separate parameters for title, intermission, finales, etc. Or if this proves to complicate things, I guess I can leave it as-is and expect modders who use the option replace all needed graphics.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Jul 23, 2019 5:50 am

I'd say the user can switch between auto-detect and fixed 4:3 where 320x200 and 640x400 are made exceptions. No need for micromanagement.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Enjay » Tue Jul 23, 2019 6:17 am

Just asking, because I don't fully understand the technicalities, what about something like the bunny scroller? At present, it's easy enough to replace those with hi-res images and they work just fine in a 4:3 view. What, if any, consideration is given to something like that and how it might sit versus, say, a modder replacing TITLEPIC and INTERPIC with 16:9 images?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Previous

Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest