Actor StatusBar Property

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Major Cooke » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:13 pm

It'd be nice if we could set status bars via actors, so in the event the camera is set upon an actor, it can use that instead.

Right now, the system is inflexible because we have to hard program exceptions in for anything and everything we want to take into account. I'm trying to make a weapon with a controllable bullet, and it's a mod that I'm intending to allow other mod compatibility with.

This is how I envision it working:
  • If the statusbar property is defined, and any player camera is found viewing through it, it will display its own status bar instead of the player's.
  • Otherwise, it just uses the player's own.
User avatar
Major Cooke
The road to Hell is paved in the carrion she leaves behind.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Discord: Major Cooke#0846

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:58 pm

The system is inflexible because so much depends on it. Besides, whether the engine exchanges the entire status bar or you implement one status bar class with several drawers for the different cases makes very little difference.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Matt » Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:02 pm

I can see the proposed feature working well for mods that are designed to be compatible with other mods - having a single status bar for that would require whichever mod "wins" to be prepared to handle all the other mods being loaded.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
 
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:42 am

If you want it, find someone to code it. If I have to do it I can outright tell you that it won't happen.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby TDRR » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:50 pm

Try using ACS and HudMessage to display the bullet-related stuff.

At least that's how i made my CTF system's universal score counters, so it could help
User avatar
TDRR
putting jelly on this hot dog
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:58 pm

ACS HUDs are a mess - there's no exception.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Major Cooke » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:01 pm

Agreed, I avoid ACS like the plague unless it's specifically for map control because it's easier there.

Furthermore, if you modify anything ACS related, you invalidate your saved games.
User avatar
Major Cooke
The road to Hell is paved in the carrion she leaves behind.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Discord: Major Cooke#0846

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Matt » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:09 pm

Is there a tutorial on how to get an actor in the playsim to do screen draw stuff with a specific player (basically doing hud without actually going through the statusbar class)?
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
 
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Major Cooke » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:14 pm

There's RenderOverlay in an event handler but that doesn't have a lot of the handy functions StatusBar has. I would imagine you could copy over the exported ones for event handlers, provided there's no catches. I wouldn't be surprised though if Graf slaps me with a wet trout for suggesting that. :P
User avatar
Major Cooke
The road to Hell is paved in the carrion she leaves behind.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Discord: Major Cooke#0846

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Matt » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:21 pm

I mean more like calling the Screen.Draw* stuff... I remember a thread elsewhere about an interactive object triggering a menu but sadly I had too little idea what I was doing to pay any attention to that
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
 
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Actor StatusBar Property

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:32 am

Major Cooke wrote:There's RenderOverlay in an event handler but that doesn't have a lot of the handy functions StatusBar has. I would imagine you could copy over the exported ones for event handlers, provided there's no catches. I wouldn't be surprised though if Graf slaps me with a wet trout for suggesting that. :P


Consider yourself slapped. :mrgreen:

The event handling is giving me nothing but headaches because it doesn't do any separation between system and level based events. I think if I am ever going to redesign the engine I'll just throw it out and put something less invasive in its place, but that'd not be compatible anymore.

Don't ever expect me to add more features on top of it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest