Page 1 of 1

Submenu for Customize Controls

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:00 am
by m8f
Why?

I want to follow this advice: Reminder: "addkeysection" exists and you should use it!. But if I do this right now and add all the keybinds from my mods into Customize Controls menu, it will bloat, becoming twice as large, and therefore becoming much harder to use.

So I propose a feature, so modders can put their keybinds into mod's submenu in Customize Controls, like they can add Submenu in menudef lump for all the other options.
In that way, all the mod controls can be neatly organized and not break things, as described in the linked topic.

Edit: the temporary solution is attached to the topic.

Re: Submenu for Customize Controls

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 4:27 pm
by Kinsie
You should be able to use multiple addkeysections in a KEYCONF, nicely dividing up your keybinds under appropriate categories.

Re: Submenu for Customize Controls

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 8:17 pm
by m8f
Yes, categories are nice, but they they don't save the user from having to scroll through the big flat list of of commands. The perfect size for any menu is one screen, but GZDoom's Customize Controls is already 3 screens without additional keybindings.

Just to clarify, currently it is possible to add submenus to Customize Controls (via menudef), but there is no way to move keybind definitions from keyconf to these submenus.

Re: Submenu for Customize Controls

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 9:12 pm
by phantombeta
m8f wrote:The perfect size for any menu is one screen, but GZDoom's Customize Controls is already 3 screens without additional keybindings.

I'm going to have to disagree with you there. I feel the current menu is fine, and if your mod has such an absurd number of keybindings as mentioned in your post in Kinsie's thread, that indicates a deeper issue with your mod.