Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Postby Jaxxoon R » Thu May 17, 2018 1:35 am

From reading the BOA thread and trying to troubleshoot my own maps, a quick way to tell if a portal or area of the level is being occluded would make the process of tweaking performance on wide-open maps a little easier.
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
 
Joined: 04 May 2014

Re: Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Postby Rip and Tear » Thu May 17, 2018 8:36 am

You can disable wall rendering with gl_render_walls false, that might help.
User avatar
Rip and Tear
King of creative usernames
 
Joined: 02 May 2017
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.8 or later
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Postby RockstarRaccoon » Thu May 17, 2018 9:08 am

Since you were asking me on the Discord, I might be able to implement a cheat code which causes the automap to remove all of the lines after every frame or possibly just highlight them. I'm already screwing with the automap code in my experimental build, but I'd have to look at the code for setting ML_MAPPED to see if there is an efficient way to do this.
User avatar
RockstarRaccoon
Totally Babies
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2016

Re: Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu May 17, 2018 10:12 am

That's exactly what I had in mind. Adding something complex is out because this is a time critical loop. But clearing ML_MAPPED before starting the renderer is definitely an option.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Postby RockstarRaccoon » Thu May 17, 2018 10:38 am

Ok, I'll implement that and see how it looks. What should I use for the internal condition to do this?
User avatar
RockstarRaccoon
Totally Babies
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2016

Re: Feature to display rendered lines on the automap

Postby RockstarRaccoon » Thu May 17, 2018 12:25 pm

Ok, so, I have it clearing off the "AM_MAPPED" flag and putting in an "AM_REVEALED" flag after it draws every line, so it only properly renders what the player can see and leaves the rest grayed out.
[imgur]https://imgur.com/gallery/fMsHzvA[/imgur]

I just need to put in a CVAR here:
Code: Select allExpand view
if (true) { // insert CVAR here
   line.flags &= ~ML_MAPPED;
   line.flags |= ML_REVEALED;
}
User avatar
RockstarRaccoon
Totally Babies
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2016


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest