Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader block

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Contact:

Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader block

Post by Marisa the Magician »

What I'm asking for is, rather than have to write individual shader blocks for each and every texture I want to affect, put them all in a single block by comma-separating them, as in:

Code: Select all

HardwareShader Texture <tex1>, <tex2>, <tex3>, <tex4>, ...
{
        <properties>
}
vs.

Code: Select all

HardwareShader Texture <tex1>
{
        <properties>
}
HardwareShader Texture <tex2>
{
        <properties>
}
HardwareShader Texture <tex3>
{
        <properties>
}
HardwareShader Texture <tex4>
{
        <properties>
}
...
Having to copypaste the same thing over and over again for each texture is kinda annoying and ugly-looking.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader bl

Post by Pixel Eater »

As well it would be good to have a category for all textures, all flats or all sprites. That way they can be grouped into one shader block.

In the mean-time people can use V-Hold as a template which already covers all the textures and flats from DooM to Final DooM.
TheShadsy
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:58 pm

Re: Allow assignment to multiple lumps in a single shader bl

Post by TheShadsy »

I realize it's not good form to bump a two-year old topic, but for the sake of keeping requests in the same place, I also wanted to request this feature.

I created a shader that I wanted to apply to every sprite used by a specific monster, which meant I had to define 51 separate hardwareshader blocks. That seems really inefficient, and I was surprised there's not a more optimized way to do this! Being able to assign multiple lumps to one hardwareshader block would make it much easier to use shaders with sprites/textures.
Post Reply

Return to “Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”