Change new sector color properties with ACS

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Change new sector color properties with ACS

Post by Nevander »

A while ago Doom 64 style lighting was added to GZDoom but in it's current state (as far as I know) it cannot be changed once set in-game with ACS like standard sector coloring can with Sector_SetColor. It would be very nice and also allow me to fully and properly add it to my Doom 64 TC when the time comes if I can change them with ACS when needed.

I am thinking of something like this:

Code: Select all

SetSectorColor(int tag, int area, int red, int green, int blue, int fade);
Where:
- Tag is the sector to change
- Area is a number from 0-5, with 0 to change all properties at once, 1 is floor, 2 is ceiling, 3 is upper wall, 4 is lower wall and finally 5 is things
- Fade is the number of tics for the change to happen, where 0 is instantly or any number higher is that many tics for the colors change from old to new (Doom 64 was able to change them instantly or gradually by interpolating between the old and new colors)
User avatar
nazakomu
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 12:51 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Change new sector color properties with ACS

Post by nazakomu »

I second this, and I actually have been wanting to mess around with this until I realized that there wasn't that much flexibility in ACS for it. :?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Change new sector color properties with ACS

Post by Graf Zahl »

This should already be doable, but right now I cannot recall how.
GarfieldTav
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:43 am

Re: Change new sector color properties with ACS

Post by GarfieldTav »

Graf Zahl wrote:This should already be doable, but right now I cannot recall how.
Yeah, I tried to do it but can't figure out how either. :(
User avatar
Dark Pulse
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:35 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Change new sector color properties with ACS

Post by Dark Pulse »

I tried looking in the stuff for ACC 1.56 and I didn't see anything that really seems like it'd fit.

I'd love to know it myself, since I'm trying to colorize these maps "properly."

(Also, while I know this is a bit of a highjack, can I get info on if pegging/flipping D64 sector colors to upper/lower linedefs could be added, Graf? Accurate recreations of the maps would need them - pegging the colors to upper or lower linedefs is used in a lot of places.)
Post Reply

Return to “Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”