Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby kodi » Mon May 15, 2017 1:22 pm

When scrolling through the inventory bar, you need to press the use item key once to select the highlighted item then once again to use it. I suggest a CVAR that when set to true skips the first step.
User avatar
kodi
Proscrastinator
 
 
 
Joined: 06 May 2013

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby Ed the Bat » Mon May 15, 2017 2:00 pm

Like in Strife
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby wildweasel » Mon May 15, 2017 2:09 pm

kodi wrote:When scrolling through the inventory bar, you need to press the use item key once to select the highlighted item then once again to use it. I suggest a CVAR that when set to true skips the first step.

Possibly the best implementation would be making it a three-stage switch - at 0, it respects what the status bar code itself wants, at 1 it uses Heretic/Hexen's behavior (click once to close, click again to use), and at 2 it uses Strife's behavior of using immediately.
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby kodi » Mon May 15, 2017 2:47 pm

@wildweasel yeah, that sounds like a really good idea.
User avatar
kodi
Proscrastinator
 
 
 
Joined: 06 May 2013

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 15, 2017 2:49 pm

For the record: I find the two-stage approach supremely annoying but that's how the status bars were designed...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby kodi » Mon May 15, 2017 3:11 pm

If that ends up being the final decision, I'd appreciate some hints on how to do this in an inherited custom status bar :)
User avatar
kodi
Proscrastinator
 
 
 
Joined: 06 May 2013

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby Enjay » Mon May 15, 2017 5:07 pm

Personally, I like the two stage approach. It feels more like the game menus. Select the item and hit enter to say "yup, that's the item I want readied" and then from that point it is readied. The one stage approach gives me the fear that I'll use something when I only want to select it.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby Nash » Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:42 pm

Hey really sorry for the bump but I'm having trouble knowing what to put in the search bar. Was this ever implemented?

Incidentally, this is for the PDA thing Enjay requested. He wants the PDA items to be inventory items you activate, and when you activate them, a sound plays, text and image gets drawn on screen.

The two-stage thing means it kind of becomes clunky when you are jumping from PDA to PDA.

If this suggestion was never implemented, then nevermind.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Inventory bar instant use CVAR

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:20 am

No, it wasn't implemented. If it is done it should use a new entry in the GameInfo section in MAPINFO.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests