Add doom_complete.pk3 from WADSmoosh to IWAD list

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7399
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Add doom_complete.pk3 from WADSmoosh to IWAD list

Post by Kinsie »

WADSmoosh is a cool new utility by JPL that lets you merge all the official IWADs into one big megagame.

It's pretty awesome, but it'd be awesomer if it could appear in the IWAD list. To this end, I've hacked together a quick IWADINFO entry for it:

Code: Select all

IWad
{
	Name = "DOOM Complete"
	Autoname = "doom.complete"
	Game = "Doom"
	Config = "Doom"
	Mapinfo = "mapinfo/doom2.txt"
	MustContain = "SMOOSHED"
	BannerColors = "54 54 54", "a8 a8 a8"
}

Code: Select all

Names
{
	...
	"doom_complete.pk3"
}
Last edited by Kinsie on Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jpalomo
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 9:45 am

Re: Add doom_complete.pk3 from WADSmoosh to IWAD list

Post by jpalomo »

The issue with this is how to detect the doom_complete file. There needs to be a unique identifying lump present in the IWAD for this to work. You can't rely on lumps like MAP01, E1M1, PLUBOSS, and TNTBOSS. What if the person building the file doesn't have Final Doom? What if they don't have Doom 1? This is something that needs to be fixed in the IWAD first.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Add doom_complete.pk3 from WADSmoosh to IWAD list

Post by wildweasel »

Maybe convince JPL to leave a lump named "SMOOSHED" in the root of the generated PK3 when it's generated?
User avatar
JPL
 
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:27 pm

Re: Add doom_complete.pk3 from WADSmoosh to IWAD list

Post by JPL »

I'll have this in the next build (no eta).

There definitely won't be a consistent MD5 sum etc for doom_complete.pk3, because the file's contents might vary based on what the user gave it, and even things like OS and the Python version used in the build. But I realize that level of IWAD detection isn't what's being asked for here.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7399
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Re: Add doom_complete.pk3 from WADSmoosh to IWAD list

Post by Kinsie »

The update threatened in the previous post is out. Updating the OP to fit.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”