SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model texture)

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model texture)

Postby Cacodemon345 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:13 am

This would allow people to change the appearance of an 3D model attached to the actor without resorting to defining more MODELDEF stuff.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151
Github ID: Cacodemon345
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu

Postby Cherno » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:30 am

How would the texture be specified, though? Model textures ("skins") are not loaded as graphics and a MODELDEF entry requires either a path to the model folder the texture is in, or a path to the texture file itself. I can see this being possible in the former case but less in the latter.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:30 pm

Actually, a model skin is just a texture with no special semantics attached.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:44 pm

So... a TextureID would just do the job.

I suppose this would be akin to UE's MultiSkins actor property.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu

Postby Cherno » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:42 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Actually, a model skin is just a texture with no special semantics attached.


So graphic files in the model folder hierarchy can be accessed as any other graphic as long as they follow the 8-character-name-limit?
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:52 pm

No. They can be accessed by their fully qualified name. Aside from that, there's nothing that says that a skin must be in that directory.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mty and 1 guest