Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Nash » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:25 pm

Marisa Kirisame wrote:This is an example with a 16:9 background on a 16:10 window.

Vanilla (forced 4:3)

Stretch

Fit

Fill


Enjay wrote:Looks good, very good.

So, just to make sure that I understand the terms "fill" and "fit"...

Fit takes the largest dimension of the image and fits that to the screen (I assume width or height), adding black bars, if necessary, to the other dimension.

Fill makes the image fill the screen by adjusting proportionally it until the dimension that would have black bars with "fit" matches the screen size and if the other dimension is now bigger than the screen dimensions, the extra bits just "fall off" the screen and are unseen. Is that correct?




Very nice. Yeah, this is long overdue.

What happens when a 4:3 user loads a mod that has a widescreen image? Do the extra pixels at the side get cut off (so the image is basically centered)?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:33 pm

No, they'll get black bars at the top and bottom.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Nash » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:38 pm

Sounds good enough to me! That's how it works too in other software, as I recall seeing in the past.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:37 pm

Yes, that's exactly it.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:25 pm

Fantastic!

If I'm correct, this is one of the last obvious things that are still tied to a 4:3 ratio and thereby look off on a modern system.

I can imagine anyone with a mod in progress that uses 4:3 images running off to make widescreen versions (I don't now, but I suspect BoA will be an early adopter ;) ).
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Malice » Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:58 pm

Rachael wrote:You're completely missing the point: You're not the only one who wants this, and if not for the presumptive way the graphic screens were coded this would've been done already.


You assume a lot. No point was missed. I was simply looking for further elaboration because you know, generic one sentence responses...

Either way, it looks like this has some traction now so I will be patient. My intent was only to bring this to the attention of those that can officially make changes, nothing more.

Cheers.
Malice
 
Joined: 04 Feb 2019

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Malice » Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:32 pm

Has the newest GZDoom been updated with this fix?
Malice
 
Joined: 04 Feb 2019

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:54 pm

No
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby wildweasel » Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:55 pm

Malice wrote:Has the newest GZDoom been updated with this fix?

Well, it's still sitting in Feature Suggestions with no [Added] or [No] tags on it, so probably it should be assumed not yet.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Rachael » Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:00 pm

Malice wrote:Has the newest GZDoom been updated with this fix?

And getting impatient about it doesn't make it happen any faster...
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Malice » Sun Jul 21, 2019 12:07 am

Rachael wrote:
Malice wrote:Has the newest GZDoom been updated with this fix?

And getting impatient about it doesn't make it happen any faster...


Maybe provide more clarification on how the workflow around here is done then. I wouldn't call 12 days (almost 2 weeks) "being impatient"...

A simple, "No we haven't got around to it yet" would suffice.
Malice
 
Joined: 04 Feb 2019

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jul 21, 2019 12:28 am

Malice wrote:Maybe provide more clarification on how the workflow around here is done then. I wouldn't call 12 days (almost 2 weeks) "being impatient"...

We're hardly a corporation with a rigidly defined structure of work shifts. The best I can offer you is a look at the commits log at Github; that's the easiest way to see what the currently active developers have been doing. At present, the most recent entries all appear to be related to localization and text.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Rachael » Sun Jul 21, 2019 4:58 am

Malice wrote:Maybe provide more clarification on how the workflow around here is done then. I wouldn't call 12 days (almost 2 weeks) "being impatient"...

A simple, "No we haven't got around to it yet" would suffice.

No - we owe you nothing.

And boy you seem to have an intense interest in "correcting" me on every single one of my posts. It's actually kind of funny what must be going through your mind to be that laser focused on lil' ol' me, and how easy it is to trigger and upset you. :P And kind of pathetic. I bet you'll come up with some silly ridiculous excuse for this, too, or pathetically try to play it off like it's nothing, or at least find some way to frame it so that you're a poor sweet innocent little child who's just getting attacked by grumpy old me. And in the end, what would you really accomplish besides making a fool of yourself, just like everyone else who has tried the same routine did?

Back on topic, though - if you want the feature faster, learn some C++ and do it yourself.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sun Jul 21, 2019 5:58 am

If you're so impatient you can try and finish my work for me, here's the branch (on the first commit for it I added some comments on what's left to do). Otherwise, please keep waiting warmly. I maintain a lot of projects so my work isn't very fast.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Option to change aspect ratio of menu background images

Postby Malice » Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:26 pm

Rachael wrote:
Malice wrote:Maybe provide more clarification on how the workflow around here is done then. I wouldn't call 12 days (almost 2 weeks) "being impatient"...

A simple, "No we haven't got around to it yet" would suffice.

No - we owe you nothing.

And boy you seem to have an intense interest in "correcting" me on every single one of my posts. It's actually kind of funny what must be going through your mind to be that laser focused on lil' ol' me, and how easy it is to trigger and upset you. :P And kind of pathetic. I bet you'll come up with some silly ridiculous excuse for this, too, or pathetically try to play it off like it's nothing, or at least find some way to frame it so that you're a poor sweet innocent little child who's just getting attacked by grumpy old me. And in the end, what would you really accomplish besides making a fool of yourself, just like everyone else who has tried the same routine did?

Back on topic, though - if you want the feature faster, learn some C++ and do it yourself.


I know you have some self fulfilling prophecy to make everything about you but quite honestly I could care less about a user name on the internet. I proposed a very long overdue addition which many people (not just myself) have been looking for which looked to have interest and then radio silence not long after. God forbid I should ask for an update on the status 12 days after the fact. What a poor miserable peasant I must be asking a simple question. There's no issue with patience on my end but rather your piss poor entitled attitude where you think no one else around here knows how to do javascript or some basic variant of C. Your knowledge on the subject is clearly a god given gift that should be held on the highest of pedestals.

Either way, If you would prefer that your clearly very precious and highly regarded time not be wasted with a question on the status of an update, then again I reaffirm my previous stance on clarifying the workflow process or better yet, if you would like a constructive conversation to which I would be willing to contribute to, heed the advice of not throwing stones from glass houses. If you give a smartass reply then you will receive one in return snowflake.
Malice
 
Joined: 04 Feb 2019

PreviousNext

Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests