[Filtering problem] What is wrong with this sprite?

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[Filtering problem] What is wrong with this sprite?

Postby grahf78 » Thu Feb 10, 2022 5:27 pm

I've run into a strange issue with how a sprite looks when using the built-in bilinear/trilinear filtering.

This is a soulsphere with two frames. Unfiltered, frames A and B look and animate perfectly. However, when filtering is turned on, the second frame looks really blurry, making the animation look very bad. I don't know what could be causing this. Any help would be appreciated!



I've also attached a small pk3 where you can do the comparison ingame.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
grahf78
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [Filtering problem] What is wrong with this sprite?

Postby Enjay » Thu Feb 10, 2022 9:03 pm

Well, I'm not sure why it had such a big impact, but SOULB0 has some translucent pixels around the edge. Flattening the image and cleaning up those pixels seems to have solved it.

If you load the attached file on top of your test PK3, the blurriness has gone.

I also trimmed the sprites closer to the image (mostly because it was the first thing that I tried) and then reset the offsets so that the sprite position matched what you had with your ones.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: [Filtering problem] What is wrong with this sprite?

Postby grahf78 » Thu Feb 10, 2022 9:18 pm

Thanks for answering! I also thought it was due to the image size, which left me more stumped. Cleaning those almost imperceptible transparent pixels did it.
grahf78
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests