Little help with gimp?... ^^'

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Little help with gimp?... ^^'

Postby Ravick » Sun Nov 07, 2021 8:05 pm

Hi there.

Well, it is my first time trying to seriously use Gimp, so maybe it is a very "noobish" problem. What I want to do is to mix the Doom's FLAT20 patch with a translucid version of FWATER1 (and so on) and also with a 90º rolled variant of FWATER1. I mean, I want to mix these 3, and make it looks like there is a small water layer over the tile floor:

++

I start by opening the FLAT20 in Gimp, and them adding the two FWATERs as layers with some translucid. While I'm looking at it in Gimp, it looks just like what I want:

However, when I try to export this work as png, or even just to combine (Ctrl+M) all the layers, this is what I get:

What am I doing wrong here? And how can I save the image I see at Gimp as it looks? (Please don't tell me to put 0% zoom at it and print the screen. I've got this reply today already D':)

Thanks in advanced. :)
Ravick
Do what thou wilt, since you don't bug the hell out of me!

Re: Little help with gimp?... ^^'

Postby Logan MTM » Sun Nov 07, 2021 8:26 pm

Esquece as camadas e só exporta a bagaça toda!
Na dúvida me passa um zap!
Hue Hue BRs :mrgreen:

1.PNG

Basicamente: Imagens > Modo > RGB
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Logan MTM
I can see you...

Postby Caligari87 » Mon Nov 08, 2021 10:55 am

It looks like the image is getting exported with the palette restrictions. Probably because you started by opening a paletted image (FLAT20) so it stays with that palette. Check under the "Image > Mode" menu and make sure it's set to "RGB" if you want truecolor.