I need help with High Resolution sprites for weapons

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Oscarlaviana
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:07 am

I need help with High Resolution sprites for weapons

Post by Oscarlaviana »

Hi everyone. It's my first time making a mod for doom and I'm having many troubles with the sprites of the weapons.

I'm trying to modify the pistol the player start with, and it works... but the sprites are huge. I already read a lot of posts in this forum of people with the same problem but when i try to use TEXTUREx (that is one of the solutions I've read) the pistol shrinks too much and moves to the top left corner. Using scale in the weapon script doesnt work either and i dont know why. I have my sprites beetwen HI_START and HI_END.

I feel like I'm missing something but I don't know what. As I said It's my first time moding doom so I'm a little lost. Thanks guys
User avatar
Logan MTM
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: I need help with High Resolution sprites for weapons

Post by Logan MTM »

Slade3 has a Full Textures editor, easy to deal with. Did you try?
r3v3n93
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:16 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: North Korea

Re: I need help with High Resolution sprites for weapons

Post by r3v3n93 »

Oscarlaviana wrote:Hi everyone. It's my first time making a mod for doom and I'm having many troubles with the sprites of the weapons.

I'm trying to modify the pistol the player start with, and it works... but the sprites are huge. I already read a lot of posts in this forum of people with the same problem but when i try to use TEXTUREx (that is one of the solutions I've read) the pistol shrinks too much and moves to the top left corner. Using scale in the weapon script doesnt work either and i dont know why. I have my sprites beetwen HI_START and HI_END.

I feel like I'm missing something but I don't know what. As I said It's my first time moding doom so I'm a little lost. Thanks guys
If you want to use Hi_Start and _end, you must put the blank(or shrunk version of the high-resolution sprite to get the best sync) sprite which has the appropriate size and offset, and also the same name of high-res sprite inside both S_Start and _end.

Sorry for the bad English.

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”