MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby SPZ1 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:14 pm

I made an MD5 into an MD2 using QuArK but the skin part of the model is glitched completely. I can't get the MODELDEF skin reference to work. I can't get the Quake 2 Model Editor's skin functions to work either. I tried MilkShape 3D but the animation disappears. Blender also causes the animation to disappear. What else could I do to get the model's skin working? I know that I'm supposed to mimic Doom 3's resource structure in QuArK and I think I did it right. :?

I'll link to the file in question, FYI.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ap4KZFMds2L1hG2gD8FtIYG6DXTp?e=6OAFnD
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby Cherno » Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:30 pm

I suggest using Noesis for converting models between formats.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby SPZ1 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:15 pm

I just decompressed all of Doom 3's resources and it seems to have fixed the problem with the skin
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Wed Dec 01, 2021 9:11 am

why not convert into MD3 in the first place? I avoid having MD2 models. Many features in GZDoom won´t work with MD2
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS /MODELPACK PROVIDER
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby Enjay » Wed Dec 01, 2021 12:13 pm

WARCHILD_89 wrote:Many features in GZDoom won´t work with MD2

For me, a far, far, far bigger problem is the inaccuracy of the MD2 format. Save a file as an MD2 and as an MD3 and then look at any part of the model where there are fine details (nicely shaped pointy bits, whatever). Chances are they will be fine in MD3 and a mess in MD2.
Consider these two close-ups the engine of Kyle Katarn's ship, the Ravensclaw, from Jedi Outcast.

Spoiler:



Not only that, if your model is animated, exactly where vertices are can change from one frame to the next in MD2 format. This can mean the whole model "wobbling" even if only one small part of it is animated.

So, yeah, seconding the suggestion of using MD3 rather than MD2 for additional reasons.



However, to try and answer your question, I'm not sure if Noesis supports MD5 but, if it does, it can export files to other formats and keep the animations if you set the export parameters correctly.

Maverick Model 3D is also good for converting between model formats, and keeping animations, but it doesn't support MD5.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Fri Dec 03, 2021 2:54 pm

However, to try and answer your question, I'm not sure if Noesis supports MD5 but, if it does, it can export files to other formats and keep the animations if you set the export parameters correctly.

Maverick Model 3D is also good for converting between model formats, and keeping animations, but it doesn't support MD5.



Noesis supports MD5 and its animations. If I want to, I could convert all Doom 3 models to MD3 and make them available, icluding the animations. But other people already did that.


Look at the attachment. MD3 format can bve very powerful if you know what you are doing ;-) That´s an old model though. If I try again, it will look even better.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS /MODELPACK PROVIDER
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: MD5 to MD2 skin issue

Postby Nash » Fri Dec 03, 2021 6:01 pm

Enjay wrote:
Spoiler:



Wow, I'd forgotten just how low-precision and destructive MD2 is. That looks awful. :shock:
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests