How to remove DOOM 2 menu logo

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

How to remove DOOM 2 menu logo

Postby OtakuWamaSama » Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:31 pm

Hello! So I've been working on a project and just touched the menu graphics for the first time. I want to remove the DOOM 2 logo that appears above the menu options once you start up the game; does anyone know how to remove it? I've been unsuccessful in finding a related forum post so I'm asking here.

What the menu looks like now:

OtakuWamaSama
 
Joined: 19 Jun 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: How to remove DOOM 2 menu logo

Postby m8f » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:15 pm

The easiest way, I believe, is to replace M_DOOM lump with an empty one, like this:
empty-logo.wad
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
m8f
dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: How to remove DOOM 2 menu logo

Postby OtakuWamaSama » Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:11 pm

m8f wrote:The easiest way, I believe, is to replace M_DOOM lump with an empty one, like this:
empty-logo.wad


Hey, I was able to understand how it works a lot better now, thank you!
It did work as intended when I tried it, so there was no logo when GZDOOM loaded the empty lump.

I've decided to try out making my own instead of having the name plastered onto the background and no logo, too:



All and all, I think this was a success! Again, thanks for the help.
OtakuWamaSama
 
Joined: 19 Jun 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest