Animated HELP screens?

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Animated HELP screens?

Postby ::Bloodfury:: » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:07 am

Hello.

Just popped into my mind would it be possible to create more than one static help screen.
So when you press F1 or select Help from the menu, you would have several help screens to
scroll while pressing arrow keys left or right. Like in duke3d or Raptor Call of the shadows.

And if this is possible. probably is, could these screens also be animated or have animated elements
within them.

Thank you all for advance. :)
Last edited by ::Bloodfury:: on Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
 
Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Multiple HELP screens?

Postby Mikk- » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:14 am

You can have multiple help pages using MAPINFO's infoPage parameter: [wiki[MAPINFO/GameInfo Defition[/wiki]
You simply need a text lump named MAPINFO in your .wad/.pk3, and the graphic lumps that are your help screens. I believe they can be animated via ANIMDEFS, perhaps someone else can clarify this.
Code: Select allExpand view
gameInfo
{
infoPage = "HELP1", "HELP2", "HELP3" // and so on..
User avatar
Mikk-
yooooooooooo
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa
Discord: Mikk0451#3922

Re: Multiple HELP screens?

Postby ::Bloodfury:: » Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:01 am

Yeah.
The infopage lets me have multiple help screens.
Still struggling to animate the individual help screens tho.

tried various different animdefs

like this for example

Code: Select allExpand view
texture HELP1
    pic HELP1 tics 4
    pic HELP1B tics 4
    pic HELP1C tics 4


with no avail..

Those multiple custom info screens are fine enough. But the animated elements would just be a splendid addition.
If anyone has pulled this off, or knows how to do so. I'd greatly appreciate if one would share their knowledge of the matter. :)
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
 
Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Animated HELP screens?

Postby AFADoomer » Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:42 am

I don't think that it will work with the engine's built-in code as-is.

Internally, the Screen.DrawTexture function, which is used by the menu code to draw the help screens, has a parameter for if the texture that's being drawn should animate or not. The specific code that draws the help screens has this parameter set to 'false', so animated textures won't work.

I also don't think that there is an easy way to replace that menu with a new ZScript menu, either. You can always point the "read this" entry on your menu to another menu, but there's no clean way to change what menu comes up when you press F1.
User avatar
AFADoomer
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Animated HELP screens?

Postby Redneckerz » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:18 pm

Boom has an undocumented feature, called Extended Help Screens. Fraggle discovered this and used it to make a WAD containing a story from Sherlock Holmes.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Animated HELP screens?

Postby AFADoomer » Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:20 pm

User avatar
AFADoomer
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Animated HELP screens?

Postby ::Bloodfury:: » Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:55 am

Thank you all for your support :)
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
 
Joined: 01 Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Animated HELP screens?

Postby AFADoomer » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:07 am

If this does get changed, just remember (as Graf pointed out in the feature suggestion thread)... Animations basically run synchronized with engine time - not game time or help screen load time - so simple animations in an image, like a loop of a burning fire or a light gleam or whatever, will look fine because the starting frame doesn't matter, but a "movie"-style animation will rarely actually start on the first frame of the animation.
User avatar
AFADoomer
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests