Custom Options Menu Font

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Custom Options Menu Font

Postby PyroHeisenberg » Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:39 pm

Greetings, fellow mod developers.

Even though I am not active on this forum (or any other forum for that matter), I've been working on several Doom projects for the past 10+ years. I have noticed that newer GZDoom versions have changed the Options menu font to a new default one for a quite some time.

Back in the day, I used a custom font that not only changed all the in-game messages (print, hudmessages, player messages on multiplayer, etc) but the menu font as well.
However, since this change I couldn't figured out how to make the custom font work on the options menu (and sub menus) nor how to resolve this nasty little glitch that happens every time I hit the menu now (photo down below).


I looked at everything on the MENUDEF and similar artciles on the Wiki and tried my best to do a deep research into the forum but I haven't found anything that can solve this. Maybe I'm missing something... :(

Anyway, is there a way to make a new font to replace the options menu font or to at least a way to resolve this placement bug?

Thank you for your time and for reading this. Hope to hear from you all soon!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
PyroHeisenberg
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Custom Options Menu Font

Postby Gez » Mon Apr 13, 2020 1:32 am

The font change was brought about by GZDoom's new internationalization feature, as it was needed to get all the characters needed for other languages (extended Latin, Cyrillic, Greek, CJK) as well as reduce the width of individual characters so the lengthier strings in some other languages still fit on the screen. AFAIK there's no way to modify the options menu font yet.

Do you use a custom menudef? The vertical spacing is normal by default.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Custom Options Menu Font

Postby PyroHeisenberg » Mon Apr 13, 2020 4:19 pm

Hey, Gez!
Thank you so much for your response and respectful feedback.

It's unfortunately we cannot alter anymore these fonts, but the reason is for the best. I'm glad GZDoom has become more friendly for international users who doesn't want to play in English.

As for the space bug, I figured out on MENUDEF. I was so focused on altering the fonts that I didn't noticed I altered the default parameters... LOL

Thanks again! See all you guys soon.
User avatar
PyroHeisenberg
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Custom Options Menu Font

Postby Logan MTM » Thu May 21, 2020 4:46 pm

Gez wrote: yet.


So is there a planning in the future to allow us modders to create custom fonts on the options menu again?

Here below is the huge difference between my mod Legacy of Suffering running on GZDoom and then on LZDoom.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Logan MTM
I can see you...
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: Custom Options Menu Font

Postby phantombeta » Thu May 21, 2020 4:52 pm

Logan MTM wrote:
Gez wrote: yet.


So is there a planning in the future to allow us modders to create custom fonts on the options menu again?

Here below is the huge difference between my mod Legacy of Suffering running on GZDoom and then on LZDoom.

Someday. But it'll most likely only accept the font format it's already using, and it'll most certainly require you to provide all required characters. (Aside from maybe the CJK characters)
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest