[help!] texture size issue

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[help!] texture size issue

Postby osjclatchford » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:36 am

I have an issue with overlaying skies.
i use this:
industrial.png

over this:
sky12.png

via this:
in my mapinfo
Spoiler:


it works in zdoom2.8.1 but in gzdoom it says the texures must be the same height. which they are... so what gives?
osjclatchford
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2011

Re: [help!] texture size issue

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:44 am



I had some trouble with the original texture not showing the transparent areas.
Using IrfanView to save the transparency did the trick.
Attachments
MAP01.wad
doublesky test
(77.02 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: [help!] texture size issue

Postby osjclatchford » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:33 am

That's interesting... Also I found that simply changing the name from anything but industrial solved it. Odd. Perhaps. Industrial is the name of another texture? Anyhow seems ok now...
osjclatchford
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2011

Re: [help!] texture size issue

Postby wildweasel » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:37 am

osjclatchford wrote:That's interesting... Also I found that simply changing the name from anything but industrial solved it. Odd. Perhaps. Industrial is the name of another texture? Anyhow seems ok now...

The problem may not be with the name itself, but its length. ZDoom only handles filenames longer than 8 characters if you're specifying full path/filenames for things. I know for sure this is the case with sounds and SNDINFO definitions, but I'm unsure if it extends to textures and MAPINFO.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [help!] texture size issue

Postby osjclatchford » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:05 pm

most interesting. However, that being said. Surely it would also be the case in zdoom engine not just gzdoom. But it works in zdoom so..?
Last edited by osjclatchford on Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
osjclatchford
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2011

Re: [help!] texture size issue

Postby _mental_ » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:11 pm

If you really want this investigated, please post a complete runnable sample. We cannot read your mind in order to recreate it exactly.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [help!] texture size issue

Postby osjclatchford » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:59 am

forget it man. its just a curioso. Im not that bothered just wondered what the deal was. whats life without whymsy? no need to get all sarky... :roll:
osjclatchford
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2011


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest