Normal mapping in Doom?

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby hardcore_gamer » Fri Mar 23, 2018 7:11 pm

I just saw this and was blown away:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOfw6HNcmj8

How far away are we from actually having modern mapping tech in Doom like what is seen there? Is it possible that soon we could have stuff like normal and heightmapping?
hardcore_gamer
Banned User
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2018

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby phantombeta » Fri Mar 23, 2018 7:21 pm

Uhhh...
All that shown in the video is already in GZDoom. The only thing necessary is to make normal maps for the textures. (Which will take quite a bit of effort, and will take even more effort to make look good at such texture low resolutions)
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby hardcore_gamer » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:09 am

phantombeta wrote:Uhhh...
The only thing necessary is to make normal maps for the textures.


I was under the impression that normal maps won't look properly 3D unless supported by the game engine.
hardcore_gamer
Banned User
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2018

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby wildweasel » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:10 am

How do you think that video was made?
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby Indecom » Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:10 pm

That video you linked was the new Normal Mapping features of GZDoom that will be released in version 3.3 I believe. SO you literally have only a few days to wait, unless you want to download the preview build.
User avatar
Indecom
Check out QuakenDoom 2, my Q2 TC for Doom 2
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2009

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby phantombeta » Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:23 pm

3.3 was released a few hours ago, so there's no wait necessary.
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby Reinchard2 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:09 am

That's really impressive. This is the moment I'm waiting for. Few years ago I made texture pack (hires version of Doom E1 textures) created from renders of 3d models. So I have all necessary maps (normals, spec, roughness etc). I need some time to learn how to implement this into GZDoom. As far as I understand how it works this need dynamic lights to see all PBR material in game, right?
Reinchard2
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Location: Poland - Bytom

Re: Normal mapping in Doom?

Postby Indecom » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:58 am

Hey, I remember talking to you about that way back when. I can help you with it when I'm off work tonight. Are you on the zd discord?
User avatar
Indecom
Check out QuakenDoom 2, my Q2 TC for Doom 2
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2009


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests