Extra Slime Frames in AnimDefs

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Extra Slime Frames in AnimDefs

Post by Pixel Eater »

I've just made a smoother motion SLIME05 and started writing the TextureDefs and AnimDefs for it, only to realize that SLIME05 to SLIME37 will run over the slots for SLIME09 to SLIME12. Likewise when I do the same for SLIME01, that will break all others in the following order. Are there any ways around this that will still replace the original textures?

Taken from ZDoom Wiki:
flat SLIME01 range SLIME04 tics 8
flat SLIME05 range SLIME08 tics 8
flat SLIME09 range SLIME12 tics 8

Out of interest here's a side-by-side:
SLIME05old.gif
SLIME05old.gif (15.85 KiB) Viewed 514 times
SLIME05.gif
SLIME05.gif (211.34 KiB) Viewed 514 times
User avatar
RiboNucleic Asshat
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Exactly where I am
Contact:

Re: Extra Slime Frames in AnimDefs

Post by RiboNucleic Asshat »

The only frame names that matter are the first and last frames (SLIME05 & SLIME08, respectively). As long as the intermediary frames are sandwiched between them in your WAD/pk3, the animation can be any length. This method actually works in vanilla too and was used for Final DOOM.

Alternatively, if you don't trust things to work on their own you could opt for the more tedious method of manually specifying each frame in your ANIMDEFS, like so:

Code: Select all

flat SLIME05
    pic NSLIM01 tics 8 
    pic NSLIM02 tics 8
    pic NSLIM03 tics 8
    ...
    pic SLIME08 tics 8 
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Extra Slime Frames in AnimDefs

Post by Pixel Eater »

Ah- the second example looks like it will work for me, thanks! :D

I had already done Nukage the first way (which worked because it doesn't share it's name/series) but it might actually be neater if I redo it your way!
Post Reply

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”