Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE (SOLVED)

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE (SOLVED)

Postby Exosphere » Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:52 pm

As the title states, I am unable to preview any MIDI file while in SLADE, which seems really weird since it can play MP3s, OGGs, and WAVs pefectly fine. Any assistence with this would be greatly appreciated.

(Apologies if this topic is not in the correct place; still getting used to the new forum layout.)
Last edited by Exosphere on Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Exosphere
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2017
Location: New England, US

Re: Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE

Postby wildweasel » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:34 pm

Have you set up a soundfont for it in the Preferences? SLADE's multiplatform nature means it can't easily access the system MIDI, so it uses Fluidsynth (if I remember right), which needs a .sf2 soundfont. If you haven't got a preference for one, GZDoom should include one that you can point it towards.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE

Postby Exosphere » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:38 am

wildweasel wrote:Have you set up a soundfont for it in the Preferences? SLADE's multiplatform nature means it can't easily access the system MIDI, so it uses Fluidsynth (if I remember right), which needs a .sf2 soundfont. If you haven't got a preference for one, GZDoom should include one that you can point it towards.


So while I was able to set up the soundfont in the Preferences and the files will now preview, all the music and sound effects now sound like default MIDI instruments. For example, when trying to preview the music files from DOOM 64, they sound nothing like the way the are in the game. Even the gun effects sound like instruments (ex. pistol sounds like a piano (which is a little amusing)). Is this supposed to happen? Also, I am unable to preview MIDIs more than once.

Any ideas?
User avatar
Exosphere
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2017
Location: New England, US

Re: Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE

Postby wildweasel » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:39 am

Doom64EX's music and sound effects rely on their own soundfont that is generated when you run Wadgen. In order to hear those properly, you'll need to temporarily set your soundfont to Doom64EX's.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE

Postby Exosphere » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:49 am

wildweasel wrote:Doom64EX's music and sound effects rely on their own soundfont that is generated when you run Wadgen. In order to hear those properly, you'll need to temporarily set your soundfont to Doom64EX's.


That is what I was using, however, it works now. I think it was because I reset the MIDI Player. Final (dumb) question, but should I do this (reset) every time I change the sound font?
User avatar
Exosphere
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2017
Location: New England, US

Re: Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE

Postby Gez » Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:00 am

Yeah, Doom 64 is unique in that it uses MIDI sound effects. A clever bit of resource optimizing made possible by the non-standard instruments the soundtrack uses. (Listening to normal MIDI made for standard General MIDI instrument mapping with the Doom 64 soundfont is fun. Kind of painful on the ears, but fun. The Doom 64 soundtrack with a normal soundfont is also quite WTF.)

Exosphere wrote:Final (dumb) question, but should I do this (reset) every time I change the sound font?

Yes, IIRC.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Unable to Preview MIDIs in SLADE

Postby Exosphere » Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:51 am

Gez wrote:Yeah, Doom 64 is unique in that it uses MIDI sound effects. A clever bit of resource optimizing made possible by the non-standard instruments the soundtrack uses. (Listening to normal MIDI made for standard General MIDI instrument mapping with the Doom 64 soundfont is fun. Kind of painful on the ears, but fun. The Doom 64 soundtrack with a normal soundfont is also quite WTF.)

Exosphere wrote:Final (dumb) question, but should I do this (reset) every time I change the sound font?

Yes, IIRC.


Interesting little fact :D

Oh and thank ya for the clarification ;)
User avatar
Exosphere
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2017
Location: New England, US


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests