[GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Homernoid » Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:29 am

Hi,

i would like to increase the amount of light of some of the doom items (especially Healthpotion, ArmorHelmet). I tried to change the values in the gldefs.txt in lights.pk3, but the changes dont seem to apply. Is this the wrong approach? What can I do?

Thanks in advance
Homernoid
 
Joined: 02 Nov 2017

Re: [GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Nevander » Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:04 pm

Create a new PK3 file and inside that make a GLDEFS file. Find the lights for the items you want to change and change their values here, or alternatively create copies with new names and then also copy the object assignments but put on the new named versions you made. Load this file with or without lights.pk3 and they should work so long as your new file is loaded second.
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014

Re: [GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Homernoid » Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:55 am

Thanks for your answer.

I tried both of your suggestions, but none of it works :(
It seems that my own "my_lights.pk3" is ignored. I got no dynamic lights at all, if I only load my_lights.pk3 even if it´s a complete copy of "lights.pk3".
Homernoid
 
Joined: 02 Nov 2017

Re: [GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Nevander » Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:09 pm

Post your my_lights.pk3 so we can see, because it should work. Also check make sure dynamic lights are turned on in the options.
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014

Re: [GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Homernoid » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:04 am

Here´s the file, thanks for checking
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Homernoid
 
Joined: 02 Nov 2017

Re: [GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Nevander » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:38 pm

Try moving GLDEFS into the root and get rid of the filter folder.
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014

Re: [GZDoom] Dynamic Lights

Postby Homernoid » Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:45 am

Nevander wrote:Try moving GLDEFS into the root and get rid of the filter folder.

It works, thank you so much! :D
Homernoid
 
Joined: 02 Nov 2017


Return to Assets (and other stuff)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests