Shader Help Thread

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by dpJudas »

When a shader runs it can have multiple outputs. Each such output is called a gbuffer. Traditionally, the first output was called the frame buffer (or color buffer), but in a modern engine the output from the scene shaders rarely go directly to screen - instead, when the postprocessing shaders run they get those buffers as texture input and eventually the final output end up in the system frame buffer.

The shader producing the initial output, the "hardware shaders" as they are called in GZDoom, don't have to always output pre-shaded information. They could be made to output anything you'd like. As it is today, the shaders already output extra gbuffers when SSAO is active: the normal vector of the face and the color of the fog. Naturally, postprocessing shaders would have to also be able to read what the hardware shaders wrote.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Pixel Eater »

Ok it sounds like we are on the same page (I just don't know the lingo :P ).

So I need a "hardware shader" from before the lighting is added to output a texture into a g-buffer which my post-processing shader can then read and compare with the regular input texture. By calculating the difference it should be possible to change colour depending on depth (rainbow fog anyone?).

Seeing as this is not on the horizon anyhow, should I make a feature suggestion anyway in case it gets placed in the "on-hold" queue?

Thanks for taking the time to write that BTW :cheers:
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 3037
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by dpJudas »

You're welcome. :)

I think this feature request is probably too big to get implemented by the usual suspects. It requires a lot of work.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Pixel Eater »

Ah, no worries then. I'm happy just knowing it's doable B-)
User avatar
Paynamia
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:35 am
Contact:

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Paynamia »

Is it at all possible to apply shaders to models at this point? I know it can be managed in Zandronum (and I think older versions of GZDoom) by placing a texture in the textures folder, but it doesn't seem to work in the current version of GZD.
Diode
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:34 pm

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Diode »

Paynamia wrote:Is it at all possible to apply shaders to models at this point? I know it can be managed in Zandronum (and I think older versions of GZDoom) by placing a texture in the textures folder, but it doesn't seem to work in the current version of GZD.
Apply a shader to a texture used as a model's skin and it will work.
Diode
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:34 pm

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Diode »

So, I've been trying to fake lighting on 3D models in areas without attenuated lights. Which is difficult when you have no clue about the calculations needed and next to no real coding ability. Oh well.



Here's a model in sector light, but I'm using a matcap texture to fake the look of a dynamic light coming from the camera . It looks pretty convincing for the most part, but the mapping is wrong - if we view the model from the other side, we can see that the highlight is no longer in the center, but around the edges:



It isn't working correctly because... This is an environment mapping shader:

Code: Select all

vec4 ProcessTexel()
{
	vec3 eyedir = normalize(uCameraPos.xyz-pixelpos.xyz);
	vec3 reflected = reflect(eyedir.xyz,normalize(vWorldNormal.xyz));	
	float m = 2.8284271247461903 * sqrt(reflected.z+ 1.0);
	return getTexel(reflected.xy / m + 0.5);
}
What needs to be changed to get the mapping to properly shift with the camera?
User avatar
Dr. Van Nostrand
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 4:33 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Dr. Van Nostrand »

I've been beating my head against this for hours and could use a hand if anyone's feeling charitable.

This is my attempt at a simple conversion of the "warp1" shader that comes with gzdoom to a post-processing shader:

Code: Select all

void main()
{
	vec2 texCoord = vTexCoord.st;

	const float pi = 3.14159265358979323846;
	vec2 offset = vec2(0,0);

	offset.y = sin(pi * 2.0 * (texCoord.x + timer * 0.125)) * 0.1;
	offset.x = sin(pi * 2.0 * (texCoord.y + timer * 0.125)) * 0.1;

	texCoord += offset;
	
	FragColor = vec4(texCoord.rgba);
	
}
At compile time I get this error:
0(18) : error C1031: swizzle mask element not present in operand "rgba

Where have I gone wrong exactly?
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Pixel Eater »

Try 'FragColor = texCoord'.

If that doesn't work, try dropping the "v" from vTexCoord?
User avatar
Dr. Van Nostrand
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 4:33 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Dr. Van Nostrand »

Thanks Pixel Eater. I tried both recommendations but now get:

0(14) : error C1035: assignment of incompatible types
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Pixel Eater »

Oh, hold on FragColor wants a colour not a coordinate. Instead try 'FragColor = texture( InputTexture, texCoord )'.
User avatar
Dr. Van Nostrand
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 4:33 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Dr. Van Nostrand »

Thanks again, now we're making some progress. I can get the shader to compile now with this code:

Code: Select all

uniform float timer;

void main()
{
	vec2 texCoord = TexCoord.st;

	const float pi = 3.14159265358979323846;
	vec2 offset = vec2(0,0);

	offset.y = sin(pi * 2.0 * (texCoord.x + timer * 0.125)) * 0.1;
	offset.x = sin(pi * 2.0 * (texCoord.y + timer * 0.125)) * 0.1;

	texCoord += offset;
	
	FragColor = texture(InputTexture, texCoord);
	
}
but the effect isn't what I expected. The screen is warped but doesn't update... if I stand still the warp effect doesn't move at all. I must be missing something with the timer...
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Pixel Eater »

Ah, right. You'll need to add 'Uniform float timer' to the shader block in your GLDefs file which will look something like this:

Code: Select all

HardwareShader PostProcess scene
{
    Name "Shader Name"
    Shader "Shader Filename.fp" 330
    Uniform float timer
    Enabled
}
And in Zscript add 'Shader.SetUniform1f( players[ consoleplayer ], "Shader Name", "timer", gametic + e.FracTic )' into a RenderOverlay event handler.

Code: Select all

class "ShaderHandler" : EventHandler
{
   override void RenderOverlay( RenderEvent e )
   {
      Shader.SetUniform1f( players[consoleplayer], "Shader Name", "timer", gametic + e.FracTic );
   }
}
User avatar
Dr. Van Nostrand
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 4:33 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Dr. Van Nostrand »

I'm not sure why but it's still not working. Here's a pk3 with all of the files. Thanks again for your help!
Attachments
screenwarp.pk3
(914 Bytes) Downloaded 187 times
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Shader Help Thread

Post by Pixel Eater »

No problems, it just needed the event handler declared :)
Attachments
screenwarp.pk3
(1.03 KiB) Downloaded 214 times
Post Reply

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”