Interpolation between states for models

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Interpolation between states for models

Postby JunkerKun » Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:33 pm

Hey there!

Is there a way to enable unterpolation between states for models? Like when actor changes state then frames will change smoothly, not instantly.
Or do I need to use nasty ckutches for that?
JunkerKun
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2015

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby Diode » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:44 pm

Aren't they interpolated already?
Diode
 
Joined: 29 Feb 2016

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby JunkerKun » Sat Jun 16, 2018 2:35 pm

Diode wrote:Aren't they interpolated already?

No. When you change states the animation will be changed instantly.
JunkerKun
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2015

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby Apeirogon » Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:21 am

If you use something like "the hand is down in first frame - hand is up un next frame" of course it will be twitching. Especialy if you use 1 ticks delay between them.
Use intermediate frames fro this, the more frames you make the smoother animation will be between this frames.

Or, probably, you use NOINTERPOLATION flag, which, obivious, completely disable interpolation.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby JunkerKun » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:32 am

Apeirogon wrote:If you use something like "the hand is down in first frame - hand is up un next frame" of course it will be twitching. Especialy if you use 1 ticks delay between them.
Use intermediate frames fro this, the more frames you make the smoother animation will be between this frames.

Or, probably, you use NOINTERPOLATION flag, which, obivious, completely disable interpolation.


No, that's not it. What I'm talking about is the transition between _states_, not frames. As soon as you change _state_ the current frame is set to the first one in the new state. I kind of understand why it does that but is there a way to enable the interpolation so the state wouldn't change immediately and have model frames change smoothly?
JunkerKun
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2015

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby Apeirogon » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:36 am

Can you please share video or wad/pack with this problem? Because Im not sure what you mean.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby R4L » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:19 am

Apeirogon wrote:Can you please share video or wad/pack with this problem? Because Im not sure what you mean.


He means the jerkiness of switching states. For example, an Imp walking around then suddenly facing the player to throw a fireball instead of turning through its rotations first or doing a "winding up" animation of some sort.
User avatar
R4L
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2017
Discord: R4L#4655

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby JunkerKun » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:13 pm

R4L wrote:
Apeirogon wrote:Can you please share video or wad/pack with this problem? Because Im not sure what you mean.


He means the jerkiness of switching states. For example, an Imp walking around then suddenly facing the player to throw a fireball instead of turning through its rotations first or doing a "winding up" animation of some sort.


No, not this. I'll try to explain it a little better, since I don't really have a wad to show this, nor can I record a video at the moment.
Imaine you have two states: Idle and Run. Idle has 5 frames and Run has 5 frames. Now when an actor is in state Idle all frames are interpolated - they change each other smoothly. But as soon as state is changed to Run actor immediately shows the first frame from state Run and then begins to interpolate between them. So there is no interframes between frame in Idle and a frame in Run.
JunkerKun
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2015

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby Hellser » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:52 pm

I get what he's trying to say. Interpolation between states. Take for an example the Cyberdemon's firing pose and his normal walking pose. If it was a model, it would 'snap' to the firing pose. With interpolation, he'll move into the firing pose without the model maker or coder having to create additional frames.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156

Re: Interpolation between states for models

Postby Jaxxoon R » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:13 pm

I've always tended to work around this by starting every state with a couple frame long
Code: Select allExpand view
"----" A

so that it transitions more smoothly
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
 
Joined: 04 May 2014


Return to Assets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest