downgrading

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

downgrading

Postby shadstarn » Mon Jan 01, 2018 4:36 pm

can someone help me ?

is there anyway to downgrade mods to work with older GZDOOM?
because i am trying to make them work on GZDOOM ANDROID
shadstarn
Banned User
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017

Re: downgrading

Postby Rachael » Mon Jan 01, 2018 4:48 pm

Wait until the newer version of D-Touch comes out.

Most of the new mods that are out now use ZScript, which either makes it impossible or difficult to downgrade to the earlier D-Touch versions, which did not support it.

It's the same support hiatus as Zandronum. Either the mod has to be (re?)made for those versions, or they just won't work period. Sorry.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: downgrading

Postby Kinsie » Tue Jan 02, 2018 1:59 am

You can learn more about D-Touch's continued development at this Doomworld thread: What the heck happened to Doom Touch/D Touch??
User avatar
Kinsie
A Concept Utterly Obsolete
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: downgrading

Postby ramon.dexter » Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:36 pm

Wait, I had found out that there exists some kind of gzdoom for android.

Here, take a look at it. Looks like it is based on newer build than doom-touch.

https://github.com/nvllsvm/GZDoom-Android
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: downgrading

Postby shadstarn » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:40 pm

where is the APK file in that link
shadstarn
Banned User
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017

Re: downgrading

Postby ramon.dexter » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:23 pm

User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: downgrading

Postby shadstarn » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:46 pm

i want to play some special mods like death of machine WOLF3D it beggs for hand held but it wont work on the android version i have
shadstarn
Banned User
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017

Re: downgrading

Postby wildweasel » Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:07 pm

shadstarn wrote:i want to play some special mods like death of machine WOLF3D it beggs for hand held but it wont work on the android version i have

I'm afraid you're out of luck until one of these Android developers rebases to a newer GZDoom, or your Android device receives an OS update. If you're using a phone/tablet older than a couple of years, you're probably screwed.
User avatar
wildweasel
May or may not have a pumpernickel addiction
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: avatar by kurashiki

Re: downgrading

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:51 am

shadstarn wrote:i want to play some special mods like death of machine WOLF3D it beggs for hand held but it wont work on the android version i have


So, you expect developer to support some older android version that could lack some features? Lucky you. Just upgrade your android tablet.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: downgrading

Postby shadstarn » Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:04 pm

you cant just upgrade your android and get a better version of an app.. the app has to be update itself.
shadstarn
Banned User
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017

Re: downgrading

Postby wildweasel » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:25 pm

shadstarn wrote:you cant just upgrade your android and get a better version of an app.. the app has to be update itself.

Which is exactly what we're trying to tell you.
User avatar
wildweasel
May or may not have a pumpernickel addiction
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: avatar by kurashiki

Re: downgrading

Postby Nevander » Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:35 am

Depending on the mod, you might could change some code to make it work. For example, I've seen mods that would work just fine on super old versions if it weren't for anonymous functions. Remove the code block of the anonymous function and re-write it without it and it might work... that is of course if the mod isn't full-on ZScript or something really new. This of course might break the intended way of an actor to behave, for example.
Nevander
Banned User
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014


Return to Assets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest