A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby Doris Buzzspear » Fri Dec 24, 2021 11:16 pm

In the sector, which is just a simple rectangle, approximately 3/4 of it is inaccessible and can't be walked into. I can summon monsters and shoot them, but it is invisible. It's just like a separated dimension or something. As my English grade is extremely low, I will post a video for proper comprehension.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MitbXPq ... el=R3V3N93

The sector and all linedefs which are associated with the sector don't have any specials and changed properties.
Merry Christmas everyone by the way.
Doris Buzzspear
 

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby Enjay » Sat Dec 25, 2021 5:34 am

Difficult to say for sure without being able to see the map. Can you post it somewhere?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby boris » Sat Dec 25, 2021 8:59 am

Probably once again the map spans over too much space, resulting in blockmap problems.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby r3v3n93 » Sat Dec 25, 2021 5:38 pm

Enjay wrote:Difficult to say for sure without being able to see the map. Can you post it somewhere?


https://imgur.com/a/XT4o7Hk

As I said, there are no line specials and sector specials. It's just a single rectangle.
If it is not enough, I will send you the portion of the map.

I forgot to login. sorry
r3v3n93
 
Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Location: North Korea
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Dec 25, 2021 6:31 pm

r3v3n93 wrote:As I said, there are no line specials and sector specials. It's just a single rectangle.
If it is not enough, I will send you the portion of the map.


The map may be very simple, but, when something goes wrong it is always best to upload the map.
Even uploading just a portion of the map may sometimes not help in finding the error. And definitely,
providing just a screenshot or video does nothing besides simply showing that something has gone wrong.

Providing info like the OS and tools used also may help.

I take it that Map Analysis (GZDB, UDB, Eureka) does not show any errors.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby r3v3n93 » Sat Dec 25, 2021 8:49 pm

https://drive.google.com/file/d/10Wzikm ... sp=sharing

Sorry. There we go.
All missing textures are completely normal since I did rid of them all
r3v3n93
 
Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Location: North Korea
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby phantombeta » Sat Dec 25, 2021 9:22 pm

Like boris suggested, this is caused by a too big map.


The actual play area is small, but the area occupied by the whole map is massive, and the node builder can't handle it, which causes issues like this. It's also very far away from origin, which can also cause problems. The issue goes away if you pull the sectors in the bottom right corner closer to the play area.
In general, I'd recommend centering the play area around the map origin* and putting non-playable sectors much closer to the actual play area so that you don't have issues like this.

* (X 0, Y 0, it's where the big "+" is in the center of the grid)
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: A portion of sector suddenly blocked?

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Dec 27, 2021 1:49 am

Follow phantombeta's advice

To spread out the sectors over the whole mapping area like this
Spoiler:

leads to trouble, as you already experienced

Collect all sectors and place them around the map origin like this
Spoiler:

While UDMF has improved performance it is not infallible, but is a lot better than the older formats.
In general, a map should be within a ca 30000mu (at most) mapping diameter around the origin.

As to WTF is this, that is a comment, to enter any information for later use.
Spoiler:

Similar to comment lines in a program.
It is accessed from the Comment tab of the Sector Mode

Just a little unsolicited hint for making doors.
To have a door the full height of the sector does not really look that good.
Making it a bit lower, especially in UDMF, allows you to scale and offset the
texture
Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest