Bugged Texture?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Bugged Texture?

Postby r3v3n93 » Sat Dec 11, 2021 2:42 am





As you can see, I put a button on ZZWOLF9, and I stuck it on the wall. However, the button texture is at fixed offset.
Even if I align the texture here and there. The funniest thing is that this bug only happens on this texture. the texture's name is SWWOLF0. Any help?
r3v3n93
 
Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Location: North Korea
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Dec 11, 2021 4:08 am

I don't know how or what you did to get this result.

I made a new texture with the combination of WOLF9 and the head from RW26_2
in editor
Spoiler:


in game
Spoiler:


which works for me, unless I misunderstood your post.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby r3v3n93 » Sat Dec 11, 2021 4:24 am

Kappes Buur wrote:I don't know how or what you did to get this result.

I made a new texture with the combination of WOLF9 and the head from RW26_2
in editor
Spoiler:


in game
Spoiler:


which works for me, unless I misunderstood your post.


interesting. I have another texture which I merged the button too, and that works like normal.
Also, I tried deleting and re-adding the texture, but it doesn't work either.
All I did is combining SW4S0 and ZZWOLF9 with an image editing program.
r3v3n93
 
Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Location: North Korea
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby Enjay » Sat Dec 11, 2021 4:26 am

If you can upload the problem files, it will be a lot easier for people to check.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby r3v3n93 » Sat Dec 11, 2021 4:46 am

Enjay wrote:If you can upload the problem files, it will be a lot easier for people to check.



https://drive.google.com/file/d/1aE01FT ... sp=sharing

There we go. I deleted most of the assets and codes not to spoil my project, so there are some missing textures.
r3v3n93
 
Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Location: North Korea
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby Enjay » Sat Dec 11, 2021 5:19 am

OK, I *think* I know what is going on here. You have your texture between F_* markers. That puts them in the flats namespace and GZDoom has special handling for graphics in that namespace that are multiples of 64x64 (it scales them).

Whether that's the exact cause or not, I can't be sure but, certainly, changing F_START and F_END to TX_START and TX_END (texture namespace markers) fixes the problem.



As for why GZDoom and UDB show the texture differently - my guess is that UDB isn't using the special handling and GZDoom is.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby r3v3n93 » Sat Dec 11, 2021 5:33 am

Enjay wrote:OK, I *think* I know what is going on here. You have your texture between F_* markers. That puts them in the flats namespace and GZDoom has special handling for graphics in that namespace that are multiples of 64x64 (it scales them).

Whether that's the exact cause or not, I can't be sure but, certainly, changing F_START and F_END to TX_START and TX_END (texture namespace markers) fixes the problem.



As for why GZDoom and UDB show the texture differently - my guess is that UDB isn't using the special handling and GZDoom is.


I think you fixed my problem. Thanks.
r3v3n93
 
Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Location: North Korea
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Bugged Texture?

Postby Enjay » Sat Dec 11, 2021 6:03 am

No problem. :)

Just in case it is something that UDB doesn't support and there is a need/will to add it, I have flagged it up here.

viewtopic.php?f=232&t=66745&p=1207924#p1207924

[edit]
While I was digging into your file I noticed that the problem wall was constructed in a weird way.

Is there a reason that you went for this:
Image

instead of this:
Image

:?:
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest