Hi, I'm new to mapping, any tips?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Jackmonster00
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Hi, I'm new to mapping, any tips?

Post by Jackmonster00 »

Hi! I'm new to the forum and I just started learning doom builder (ultimate) and I was wondering if there's anything important I should know about mapping before I jump in? Thanks in advance! :D
Kappes Buur

Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Hi, I'm new to mapping, any tips?

Post by Kappes Buur »

While UDB gives many clues with respect to what each item will do, it is always a good idea to become familiar with the Doom terminology and check out what the map editor is capable of, see the manual from Help. To that end I made a website to help new mappers become well versed with the mapping process.

Other tutorials can be found here and here, as well as many videos on Youtube.

Once you progress beyond a basic Doom map and include a fair number of new actors, map item housekeeping becomes very important. The first level of keeping a map structure well organized is to learn about namespaces. To learn which items are cumulative and which are not is part of that.

Just something to keep in mind for future maps: including a vast number of new actors (monsters and weapons and decorations) and models is best done with the pk3 map structure. A master of this is Enjay. I always cite his pwad Gene-Tech: Before the Storm as a perfect example how a pk3 map is stuctured with using folders and subfolders.