Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Koris95
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 12:55 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Post by Koris95 »

I have a sector with 5 floors, each floor has a monster, the bottom one works fine, but the others just stand still and take damage without retaliating.
I've attached an example WAD file to the post so you can get a better idea of what I'm dealing with.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47995
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Post by Graf Zahl »

Without being able to view the map right now, the topic "inside" 3D floors warrants the question: Are you really putting the monsters *inside* the 3D floor? That won't work. The inside of a solid 3D floor is solid so any monster being placed there is totally blocked from moving.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26403
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Post by Enjay »

Yes, on a quick check, that does seem to be exactly what the map is doing.

@Koris, you'll have to rethink how to do this area: perhaps make individual solid thin floors for the enemies to stand on and, if you still need to use 3D floors to draw the bars on the sides, put additional 3D floors between the actual solid floors, make these 3D floors non-solid and leave the lines as impassable so that the bars still seem to block movement.
Koris95
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 12:55 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Post by Koris95 »

But are the floors themselves placed incorrectly? Or just the monsters?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26403
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Post by Enjay »

A bit of both. If you want things to be able to move on those platforms, then only the platforms should be solid, not the air space between floors. If you want monsters to move they should not be placed inside solid 3d floors.
Moebius
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 1:45 am

Re: Monsters won't move inside 3D floors

Post by Moebius »

1. Monsters can't move within 3D sectors.
2. You should make thin floors as your 3D sectors.
3. Here is your map redone as I would do it. Although, you better run when they see you.
4. I made the bar 3D sectors non-solid so everyone can shoot through them, but made the outer lines block player and monsters, so you can't go in and they can't come out.
5. Another thing, your vertices aren't aligned. If you zoom in you'll see multiple vertices real close to each other. Not good.

Edit: My response was prior to me knowing about the 3D Floor Mode in UDB. Used it for a few hours. Same things apply. You just need to make thin 3D Floors for the Monsters to stand on. If you place Monsters within the thicker 3D floors you made then they are stuck in there like it's invisible concrete. Still need to make the outer railing sectors non-solid or they will never see the Player. Make the outer ring of lines block Player and Monsters.
alt3dfloorsproblem.wad
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Return to “Mapping”