How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby gman829 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:55 pm

I am making a project for the Doom community, and I want to know how I can make a platform raise when crossing a linedef. To give you an idea of what I'm doing, I am recreating the Cultist Base level from Doom Eternal in Doom Builder. I am trying to make the part in the beginning where a yellow floor appears when crossing a line, but due to limitations of the Doom engine, I'm trying to substitute it with a raising platform. So how do I do this?
gman829
 
Joined: 12 May 2018

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Nov 16, 2020 1:33 pm

If it is that difficult for you then it would be appropriate for you to make your map, or derivative thereof, available for perusal.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby Darkcrafter » Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:31 pm

1) Draw your platform sector, assign it a tag, let's say 60.
2) Draw outside of your map a triangle. Select two of its 90' degree sides and give it no texture by typin "-" without brackets, you should see a yellow "missing" exclamation sign. Deselect them and select the remaining one, give it a texture of a solid color you already have or simply type "CRATOP2" without brackets. Set in an action "160". In the first, the top one type sector number 60 - that is where your platform will be. Press OK.
3) Give this triangular dummy sector you just edited a sector tag number 61.
4) Edit dummy sector's floor and ceiling textures, you might simply texture it with "CRATOP2" again.
5) Set the heigts of this dummy sector - Ceiling: 0, Floor: -16. Press OK.

Now download and install GZDoomBuilderBugFix (not Ultimate DoomBuilder) as it has a built-in script editor.

Paste this script in there:

Code: Select allExpand view
#include "zcommon.acs"

script 1 (void)

{

   //Raise the platform
   Ceiling_RaiseByValue(61, 64, 256);
   Floor_RaiseByValue(61,64, 256);

}


Where 61 - is your dummy sector's tag;
64 - is speed at which it will be raised;
256 - the height to which it will be raised;

I gave it 256 just because I'd think this starting plato has a floor height value of 256, if it's higher (like 320) it should be 320 in the script, if it's lower (like 128) then it should be 128 in the script.

Compile the script.

Now 6) Draw a straight linedef WITHOUT any vertices on it and make it doesn't intersect the other linedefs. It must FACE the direction from which the player walks from, if it faces the platform, select that linedef and press "F" key on the keyboard. Then select it and give it an action number 80 (Script Execute), press on script number option and select "script 1". Activation flags must be the following: When player walks over, front side only. Press OK.

You might want to give that dummy sector some translucency, in order to do this, select your dummy sector's gree linedef again and decrease opacity from 255 to 170 for example, you might also check the flag 64 - additive translucency.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Darkcrafter on Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby gman829 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:52 pm

Here's the file, and I'm also having trouble with switches. There's no proper guide to UDMF, and I don't really understand the ZDoom wiki. https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1OVK7olcQLMtOffcRqhOqZyOM9I3V6zpb?usp=sharing
gman829
 
Joined: 12 May 2018

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby Darkcrafter » Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:13 pm

Do you know how I "love" this game to even think about it? :wub: Btw, I just gave you the example wad.
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby gman829 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:18 pm

Screw this Im just gonna make it in ZDoom in Doom format. I'm more familiar with it, but don't expect any climbable walls or monkey bars.
gman829
 
Joined: 12 May 2018

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby gman829 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:25 pm

Also, because of that, there will be tons of teleports to replace climbable walls.
gman829
 
Joined: 12 May 2018

Re: How to make a platform raise in UDMF?

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:44 pm

gman829 wrote:There's no proper guide to UDMF, ......


That is not entirely true.
There are lots of tutorials teaching the ins and outs of mapping, both, in text form and videos. You, obviously, are not looking hard enough. Yes, UDMF may seem to be more difficult than Doom format, but in actuality it is, more or less, the same. But the UDMF menus provide a simpler interface to what can be done, for example, in Hexen format or not at all in Doom format.

gman829 wrote:Screw this Im just gonna make it in ZDoom in Doom format. I'm more familiar with it, .....


You seem to have adopted the attitude that asking for help is better than learning to do things for yourself. Because of that I do feel loathe to help you with future questions. However, if I am wrong about that and you are, sometimes, really at a loss to find an answers to what you want to do, despite your best efforts, then by all means direct your questions to the community.

Since I checked your map, I may as well explain what you missed in your map:
When you want to do something through action specials attached to linedefs or sector things, then the action special needs an id tag for the affected sector. And that sector needs the same id tag. I was going to upload the fix for your map, but now I believe it better to let you work it out for yourself.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests