Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Sulon480 » Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:47 pm

Hi!
Because of the quarantine situation I started working on my DooM wad again on a Laptop (using GZDooM, Slade3, and Ultimate Doom Builder), I was fine, and the Forum helped too, but I had the whole pc reinstalled. (with win7, instead of 8, as I prefer 7) So I saved all my assets for my mod on a pendrive so I can carry on working on it, however Doom Builder doesn't seem to work anymore. Any time I try to load a map, or click "New Map" UDB simply stops working. Is there any solution? I can't really carry on doing my mod without it...
I hope I posted this in the right place!
Thx, in advance ;)
Sulon480
Sergeant T-80BV Commander
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Discord: #1152
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Nov 12, 2020 3:15 am

Does your computer fill these requirements

Prerequisites:
System requirements:
    2.4 GHz CPU or faster (multi-core recommended)
    Windows 7, 8 or 10
    Graphics card with OpenGL 3.3 support
    Beware: this requirement is new! If GZDB-BF works for you, UDB may not.
    But, if latest GZDoom works for you in 3D mode, UDB will, too.
    GZDB-BF does not automatically update to UDB.
Required software:

copied from viewtopic.php?f=232&t=66745

[edit]
corrected download link for .NET Framework
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Wed Dec 16, 2020 8:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Sulon480 » Thu Nov 12, 2020 5:00 pm

It should run on my pc, as I have used it before. This only started as I swapped win8 to 7... :/
Sulon480
Sergeant T-80BV Commander
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Discord: #1152
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Nov 12, 2020 5:12 pm

Sulon480 wrote:It should run on my pc, as I have used it before.

Who knows what happened to the OS when you downgraded.

Is your graphics card capable to render OpenGL 3.2?
If yes, did you update the graphics driver?
Did you install Microsoft .Net Framework 4.7.2?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Sulon480 » Thu Nov 12, 2020 5:32 pm

I'm off to bed now as it's kinda late here, but I suspect that the Drivers may cause the problem... Anyway, thx for now, I'll check tomorrow! (It's 00:31 here in Hungary :D )
Sulon480
Sergeant T-80BV Commander
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Discord: #1152
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Sulon480 » Wed Dec 16, 2020 1:34 pm

I forgot to reply, sorry I had many things to do... :) I just checked DoomBuilder again (even installed an update) and it seems like it has problems with the wads I'm working with for some reason... If I try to create a new map with no wads selected, it'll open correctly, however if I try to add doom2.wad or my own it stops working... :cry:
Sulon480
Sergeant T-80BV Commander
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2020
Discord: #1152
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Dec 16, 2020 8:26 pm

If you have installed .NET Framework Runtime 4.7.2
and your graphics card can render OpenGL 3.3 or above
then you should be good to go.

Did you download and install the correct version of UDB, 32 bit or 64 bit?
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/ultimatedoombuilder/

If you can start UDB, did you properly set up the Game Configuration (default key F6) for the format you want to map for in Resources and Testing?

User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Need help with DoomBuilder! (crash)

Postby Darkcrafter » Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:02 am

I had the same problem with Windows 7. The problem was solved by updating the system to Service Pack 1 and installing Net Framework 4.5 because it simply didn't get to finish due to the unsupported OS (Win 7 was too old for it).
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Xane123 and 2 guests