Page 1 of 1

Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 6:19 am
by David Clackleford
Hi guys thank you in advance for your awesome support! :)

I am using Ultimate Doom Builder latest version and want to create a new map with Brutal Doom weapons , using DOOM2.wad and Brutaldoomv21.pk3 as resources:
https://i.imgur.com/P64cJER.png

I then get 247 errors:
https://pastebin.com/E78Lh30W

besides duplicate names, in fact there are many items/weapons missing from the editor (i.e. flamethrower, demonrunerevenant) without an entry.
https://i.imgur.com/sZcdQ07.png

When testing the map, if I spawn them from the ingame console they are working!
https://i.imgur.com/yowfhyc.png

Having tested Ultimate doom builder, Gzdoom2 and bugfix, the issue is the same.
I suppose it has to do with wrong loading those defs into the editor but I cannot identify how to solve this.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:38 am
by Kappes Buur
The structure of BDv21 leaves much to be desired and is not really user friendly.
Many of the actors have no DoomEd number, therefore, you have to add these identifiers manually,
ensuring that each actor has a unique number.

Using the flamethrower, for example:
Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR Flamethrower2 : BrutalWeapon 20001<--- this number
{
    Height 20
    Weapon
.SelectionOrder 600
    Weapon
.AmmoUse 0
    Weapon
.AmmoGive 600
    Weapon
.AmmoType "Gas"
    Inventory.PickupSound "BFGREADY"
     +WEAPON.NOAUTOAIM
    Inventory
.PickupMessage "You got the Flamethrower (Slot 9)"
    Tag "Flamethrower"
    VisibleToPlayerClass BDoomer, Doomer2, TacticalDoomer, Purist
    Inventory
.ForbiddenTo ""
    States
    
{
    } 


Then the flamethrower will show up in the editor Things Mode under User Defined
Spoiler:

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 4:41 pm
by David Clackleford
It's very confusing indeed but I got it, thank you so much! awesome!!

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 5:48 pm
by Hedda Bardman
I'm using UDB R3720. I edited the AssaultShotgun in brutal doom using Slade and gave it the number, 350. When I load my map with the edited brutal doom pk3 file as a resource, I do not see the assaultshotgun listed in things mode.
ACTOR AssaultShotgun : BrutalWeapon 350
{
Weapon.AmmoUse1 0

what have I missed?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 11:47 am
by Fanny Sidgeshaw
For the item to show up in the UDB things menu you should add the definitions for UDB/GZDB too. The sprite name is from the Spawn: section:

ACTOR AssaultShotgun : BrutalWeapon 350
{
//$Category "BrutalWeapons"
//$Sprite A12PA0
//$Title "AssaultShotgun"
//$Angled
Weapon.AmmoUse1 0

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 3:53 am
by maf93
Looking at the ExplosiveSupershot.wad in slade, I added the following four $ definitions to the DECORATE file in my map wad file, but udb still is not listing the custom weapon in Things Mode:

Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR ExplosiveSuperShotgun : Weapon 15000
{
Tag "Explosive Super Shotgun"
$Category "Weapon"
$Sprite EXPXA0
$Title "ExplosiveSuperShotgun"
$Angled
Weapon.SlotNumber 3
Weapon.AmmoUse 2
  Weapon.AmmoGive 8
  Weapon.AmmoType "ExpShell"
   Decal MiniScorch
  Inventory.PickupMessage "Picked up an explosive Super Shotgun"
Obituary "%o was blown and holed by an explosive Super Shotgun"
  States
  {
  Ready:
    SHTE A 1 A_WeaponReady
    Loop
  Deselect:
    SHTE A 1 A_Lower
    Loop
  Select:
    SHTE A 1 A_Raise
    Loop
  Fire:
    SHTE A 3
   SHTE A 0 A_PlayWeaponSound("Weapons/EXPSSGFire")
    SHTE A 0 A_GunFlash
   SHTE A 0 A_Recoil (5)
    SHTE M 2 A_FireBullets (11.2, 7.1, 16, 5, "PelletExplo")
   SHTE N 2
   SHTE O 2
    SHTE B 4
   SHTE C 3
    SHTE D 7 A_CheckReload
    SHTE E 3 A_PlaySound("Weapons/EXPSSGOpen")
   SHTE F 4
    SHTE G 3
   SHTE H 4
    SHTE I 3 A_PlaySound("Weapons/EXPSSGLoad")
   SHTE J 4
    SHTE K 3
   SHTE L 3
    SHTE E 3 A_PlaySound("Weapons/EXPSSGClose")
   SHTE B 3
    SHTE A 5 A_ReFire
    Goto Ready
   Spawn:
   SGNE A -1
   Stop
   Flash:
    TNT1 A 4 Bright A_Light1
    TNT1 A 3 Bright A_Light2
    Goto LightDone
   }
   }
   
   ACTOR PelletExplo
{
Radius 11
  Height 8
  Speed 30
  +NoBlockMap
  +NoGravity
  +ActivateImpact
  +ActivatePCross
  +NoTeleport
  +PuffOnActors
  +PuffGetsOwner
  +ForceRadiusDmg
  +FORCEXYBILLBOARD
  RenderStyle Translucent
  Alpha 0.7
  Scale 0.2
  Damage 1
  States
  {
  Spawn:
  EXPX A 0 Bright
    EXPX A 3 Bright
   EXPX B 3 Bright  A_Explode(10, 30, 1)
    EXPX C 3 Bright
    EXPX D 3 Bright
   EXPX E 3 Bright
   EXPX F 3 Bright
    Stop
  }
}

ACTOR ExpShell : Ammo
{
  Inventory.PickupMessage "Picked up some explosive shells."
  Inventory.Amount 4
  Inventory.MaxAmount 50
  Ammo.BackpackAmount 4
  Ammo.BackpackMaxAmount 100
  Inventory.Icon "EHELA0"
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    EHEL A -1
    Stop
  }
}

ACTOR ExpShellBox : ExpShell
{
  Inventory.PickupMessage "Picked up a box of explosive shells."
  Inventory.Amount 16
  Inventory.MaxAmount 50
  Ammo.BackpackAmount 16
  Ammo.BackpackMaxAmount 100
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    EBOX A -1
    Stop
  }
}

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 1:55 pm
by maf93
see below that I added the 4 $ definitions but when opening my map with brutal as a resource there is no custom weapon to choose. I must be missing some step to get a custom item to show in the Things Mode of UDB.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder / Cannot load properly BD things

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 3:04 pm
by maf93
I got it figured out. I was opening my map with doom: doom2 config, once I opened the map with gzdoom: doom2 config the custom items showed up. thanks. thanks the for category tip.