Map bundling

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
thewaver
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:34 am

Map bundling

Post by thewaver »

Hello everyone.

I have just finished work on my first Doom 2 map using ZDoom Builder and I am starting work on the second one soon.
My issue is: how do I package them together? Right now, each individual map is it's own .WAD file.
Previously I was working on a balance mod and I simply created a .ZIP file containing my DECORATE.txt and MAPINFO.txt (I needed MAPINFO only to specify player class) and changed the extension to .PK3 and everything was golden - how do I bundle my maps with that mod now?

(PS: if it's possible, I'd rather just write down the "package contents" by hand on a text file rather than installing SLADE just for this)
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by Kappes Buur »

Un7zip your pk3 file into its constituent folders.
Open Maps and add your second pwad as MAP02.wad. Make certain that it is actually MAP02 and not also MAP01. If it is still MAP01 then reopen the pwad in the editor and change the name to MAP02.

[imgur]https://i.imgur.com/ApYvMAQ[/imgur]

Re7zip as a pk3 file.
Done.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by Enjay »

From memory, if the PK3 is set up.prpperly (i.e., maps in the maps folder) it's actually just the wad file name that is used - not the mapspace name inside the wad. I always set the name inside the wad too, but I don't think you need to.
User avatar
CBM
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:39 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Shores of Hell

Re: Map bundling

Post by CBM »

what about the map sequence? or will gzdoom automatically assume that map02 comes after map01 etc... ?

btw. great fan of your work enjay! GeneTech is among my favorite mods! :D
User avatar
MFG38
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:26 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by MFG38 »

CBM wrote:what about the map sequence? or will gzdoom automatically assume that map02 comes after map01 etc... ?
Yes.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by Enjay »

Also don't forget that you can set up your map sequence however you like it using MAPINFO or via the parameters on your exit lines in your maps. Maps do not have to run in the normal 1, 2, 3, 4 etc order.
thewaver
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Map bundling

Post by thewaver »

Sigh... I can't believe that I missed all these replies for a week because these antiquated forums don't do reply notification by default...

Will try your solution ASAP, Kappes - thank you so much!

Also, thanls, Enjay - I have seen from the available action list that I can specify which map to transition to, or if I want it to be the end of the game. (but I'm using the normal sequence for now)

PS: I already had my maps named correctly - glad I got that one right, at least :D
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13557
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by Rachael »

thewaver wrote:Sigh... I can't believe that I missed all these replies for a week because these antiquated forums don't do reply notification by default...
Antiquated? We like it that way. :twisted:

Just because it's "modern" doesn't always mean it's "right", especially with web development.
User avatar
Darkcrafter
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:42 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Map bundling

Post by Darkcrafter »

Hope it doesn't break a rule.
I've ran into a problem when bundling my maps recently:

G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.

Execution could not continue.

Script error, "HellRen.pk3:mapinfo" line 101:
SC_GetNumber: Bad numeric constant "08".

map MAP08 lookup "The Cave"
{
LINE 101: levelnum = 08
titlepatch = "WILV00"
next = "MAP09"
secretnext = "MAP31"
sky1 = "SKY3", 0
cluster = 1
par = 30
sucktime = 1
music = "D_COUNTD"
UsePlayerStartZ
}

map MAP09 lookup "Radar"
{
levelnum = 09
titlepatch = "WILV00"
next = "MAP10"
secretnext = "MAP31"
sky1 = "SKY3", 0
cluster = 1
par = 30
sucktime = 1
music = "D_AMPIE"
}

The same goes on with Map 09, as soon as these two mapinfo definitions are removed from the general MAPINFO file everything else works fine. I have checked up everything, the mapinfo definitions are identical, the map numbers are correct in the coresponding wad files, mapinfos inside the wads are identical to the common MAPINFO (I keep separate mapinfo inside the map wads to test them out of GZDoom Builder). What can be wrong?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by Kappes Buur »

Try
  • levelnum = 8
  • levelnum = 9
User avatar
Darkcrafter
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:42 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Map bundling

Post by Darkcrafter »

Thanks a lot this worked! But now it's getting interesting why there was an error :o
User avatar
MFG38
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:26 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Map bundling

Post by MFG38 »

Darkcrafter wrote:Thanks a lot this worked! But now it's getting interesting why there was an error :o
Perhaps because of the 0s? Just a wild guess.
User avatar
Darkcrafter
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:42 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Map bundling

Post by Darkcrafter »

:| the other definitions have zeros and they work.
User avatar
CBM
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:39 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Shores of Hell

Re: Map bundling

Post by CBM »

wadsmoosh is also a great way to learn about map bundling...:)
thewaver
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:34 am

Re: Map bundling

Post by thewaver »

And I'm back, and I have finished my level pack (9 maps + 1 minimap) - getting ready to publish now :) (still have to figure out where).
Just wanted to drop by and thank everyone again :)

PS: Rachael, I'm a professional developer with 15+ years of experience, a third of which in web technologies, and I have been one of the key contributors of an app with >300M users. If you'd like to have a discussion about the status quo of web technologies in a different medium then drop me a line :)
Post Reply

Return to “Mapping”