Ambient Sound problem.

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Post Reply
Guest

Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Guest »

So, I've been trying to figure this out for a bit. My ambient sound isnt detected by the custom ambient sound actor even though I defined it in sound info. My question is what can I do to fix this issue and try to make it so it works.
SNDINFO = "NIGHT1 NIGHT1"
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Enjay »

Can't do much right now (on my phone) but if your SNDINFO code is all you have done, you have not actually set up your ambient sound yet. All you have done is given GZDoom a name to refer to your sound by. Check the wiki SNDINFO page on how to set up ambient sounds.

[edit]
Update: This is probably the most useful page on the Wiki for you:

https://zdoom.org/wiki/Ambient_sound#SNDINFO_step
User avatar
Beetow Brode
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:46 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: "We've Got Hostiles"

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Beetow Brode »

Okay so after some coaxing and refining I finally came up with this

world/NIGHT1 NIGHT1
$alias AmbientSound1 world/NIGHT
$ambient 1 AmbientSound1 point periodic 1.0 0.7

Now, it still doesnt wanna work but I'm pretty sure I set it up correctly, either way im pretty stupid. But if you can explain this that'd be great (:
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Enjay »

Small example file using (basically) your SNDINFO attached.

Load it up and check out map01. It doesn't sound great BTW because the sound I picked doesn't really suit the parameters in your code but I guess your sound will be better.
User avatar
Beetow Brode
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:46 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: "We've Got Hostiles"

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Beetow Brode »

Ooooohhh welp, mfw it was simplier than I thought it was.
User avatar
Beetow Brode
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:46 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: "We've Got Hostiles"

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Beetow Brode »

One more thing, how do you make it continuous, I looked at the wiki and it said that you cant put /world and then put continuous because it breaks it
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Enjay »

$ambient 1 "world/NIGHT1" POINT CONTINUOUS 1.0

Unless by "world" you mean you want it to be heard all over the map at the same volume in which case

$ambient 1 "world/NIGHT1" SURROUND CONTINUOUS 1.0

The "world" in your name is just that, a convenient name. It doesn't carry any special properites in the way you have set it up. You could just as easily have your SNDINFO entry read:

NIGHT1 NIGHT1
$ambient 1 NIGHT1 point continuous 1.0

and it would still work.
User avatar
Beetow Brode
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:46 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: "We've Got Hostiles"

Re: Ambient Sound problem.

Post by Beetow Brode »

YEAH! Problem solved thank you so much Enjay.
Post Reply

Return to “Mapping”