Page 1 of 2

Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:12 am
by Amuscaria
Is there a easy way, in UDMF, to have a teleporter under a 3D floor that only teleports when you're on the lower floor, but not upper floor?

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:04 am
by Nevander
I don't think it's possible but I'm not positive. I wish GZDoom/UDMF had an "actor enters thing radius" thing which only triggers when an actor touches said thing. So you could place one and it would trigger when an actor touches it. Doom 64 has one that gets used for several triggers in some maps.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:05 am
by Graf Zahl
No easy way. Walkover linedefs always cover the entire height. Your only chance is a script that checks the actor's z-position before triggering the action you want.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:17 am
by Mr.Enchanter
This ^

While working on Kino Der Toten for NZDE, this problem came up but with scripted sectors.
That being said, ActorHitsFloor in sector actors may work but I doubt it.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:56 am
by ramon.dexter
And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:58 am
by Amuscaria
Thanks. I'll just use something else.

EDIT:
ramon.dexter wrote:And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
That might work. Gonna test it out.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:54 pm
by Gez
What happens if you use a sector action: player enters sector on a 3D floor's control sector?

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:39 am
by Amuscaria
Gez wrote:What happens if you use a sector action: player enters sector on a 3D floor's control sector?
I'm unfamiliar with sector actions.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:16 am
by Graf Zahl
Amuscaria wrote:Thanks. I'll just use something else.

EDIT:
ramon.dexter wrote:And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
That might work. Gonna test it out.
One piece of advice: Don't!
If you implement a hack, don't be surprised if it glitches a few years down the line, in case some quirk changes.


Regarding the other suggestions: Why are they even being made? The goal here is clear: You want to restrict the height at which the action triggers. So implement something that checks the position of the triggering object! Everything else is working around the issue.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:22 am
by Nash
The only little nuisance by implementing height checks in the script is you need to provide an absolute Z coordinate to check against, and if for whatever reason the map's floor height is altered, you'd have to recompile the script...

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:42 am
by ramon.dexter
Graf Zahl wrote:
Amuscaria wrote:Thanks. I'll just use something else.

EDIT:
ramon.dexter wrote:And what about connecting the teleport linedef action to a invisible actor and then trigger that action when player bumps this invisible actor?
That might work. Gonna test it out.
One piece of advice: Don't!
If you implement a hack, don't be surprised if it glitches a few years down the line, in case some quirk changes.


Regarding the other suggestions: Why are they even being made? The goal here is clear: You want to restrict the height at which the action triggers. So implement something that checks the position of the triggering object! Everything else is working around the issue.
Hi Graf, sorry to ask, but can you explain to me, what is exactly 'hacky' in this approach? Action special could be connected to actor, that is 100% legit approach and I really dont see how it could break anyhting. Also, it could leave the height check on the engine, without any supporting coding (like checking for palyers height). I just dont see any 'hack' approach in this. Just a little irregular approach, but nothing more.

(I'm asking because explanaition like "Don't" is not explanatory enough for me.)

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:00 am
by Gez
Graf Zahl wrote:Regarding the other suggestions: Why are they even being made? The goal here is clear: You want to restrict the height at which the action triggers. So implement something that checks the position of the triggering object! Everything else is working around the issue.
And replacing a teleport action with a script action so that you can do the check isn't a hack or a workaround? :P

What if you need to change the 3D floor's height for some reason and forget to update the script? Heck, what if the 3D floor moves up and down?

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:14 am
by Arctangent
ramon.dexter wrote:Hi Graf, sorry to ask, but can you explain to me, what is exactly 'hacky' in this approach?
You're replacing a trigger based around walking over a non-solid line with bumping into a solid actor. That alone should really illustrate how hacky this method is, but you also need to keep in mind that walk-over line specials don't trigger based on bounding boxes - they only trigger when the actor's center crosses the line. So actor collisions don't exactly make a good approximation, considering they're entirely based around bounding boxes.

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:20 am
by phantombeta
Gez wrote:What if you need to change the 3D floor's height for some reason and forget to update the script? Heck, what if the 3D floor moves up and down?
You give the control sector a tag and use GetSectorCeilingZ and GetSectorFloorZ to check its height. :P
I wonder if CheckSwitchRange would do anything to teleport lines... Probably not, but worth checking, I guess...

Re: Placing a teleporter under a 3D floor.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:34 am
by AFADoomer
Arctangent wrote:
ramon.dexter wrote:Hi Graf, sorry to ask, but can you explain to me, what is exactly 'hacky' in this approach?
You're replacing a trigger based around walking over a non-solid line with bumping into a solid actor. That alone should really illustrate how hacky this method is, but you also need to keep in mind that walk-over line specials don't trigger based on bounding boxes - they only trigger when the actor's center crosses the line. So actor collisions don't exactly make a good approximation, considering they're entirely based around bounding boxes.
You can "touch" a non-solid actor... And, besides being able to do z-height checks, the actor can be set up to trigger actions based on the horizontal distance between it's center and the bumpee/activator. If you have an action that should only take place when the player is within a certain radius of a specific point, then this gives you far better control than approximating the circle around the point with lines... Plus, if needed, you can write your own ZScript-based actions instead of relying on line specials or ACS.