[QUESTION] Is this intended behavior of Hires textures?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[QUESTION] Is this intended behavior of Hires textures?

Postby Ozymandias81 » Sat May 12, 2018 10:23 am

While playtesting a map on Blade of Agony, I have noticed that some textures doesn't use their HIRES counterpart because being defined as longnamed in maps.
Is this the intended behavior or should this moved on Bugs thread? Since it is mapping related I thought it's fine to drop this here, but just in case...

test.zip
Tested with gzdoom 3.4 r400 64bit
(17.16 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars

Re: [QUESTION] Is this intended behavior of Hires textures?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat May 12, 2018 11:03 am

A texture with a long name is something entirely different for the engine than its short name equivalent, even if they use the same lump. So logically the hires texture that's assigned to the short name version has no meaning for the long name version.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [QUESTION] Is this intended behavior of Hires textures?

Postby Ozymandias81 » Sat May 12, 2018 11:25 am

Thanks Graf as usual, thought the same but wasn't sure there. Guess this topic could be closed if anything new is there.
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AFADoomer and 1 guest