[DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby RX78Spyro » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:23 am

Hello,

I'm doing a map currently on Doom Builder 2.1.2.1553 using GZDoom for the engine and Doom 2 as the main wad, with the knowledge of the tutorial in the DB's website at hand.
Currently, I do not know how to program a door who needs a colored keycard to be opened, how can I do this?

Also, Is there a more complete tutorial for Doom Builder available somewhere?

Thanks in advance and sorry if the question has already been asked.
Be brave.
User avatar
RX78Spyro
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Discord: MNDC#2510

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:54 pm

RX78Spyro wrote:Currently, I do not know how to program a door which needs a colored keycard to be opened, how can I do this?

I assume you mean a new key with a different colour than the default keys.

Spoiler:

You need to provide the graphics for the new key(s) and set them up with DECORATE. Then specify the attruibutes of the new key in LOCKDEFS and possibly activate the door with a SCRIPT.
See the example pwad.

RX78Spyro wrote:Also, Is there a more complete tutorial for Doom Builder available somewhere?

See An Illustrated Guide at the bottom of the Doombuilder website.
Attachments
three_keys3b.wad
(188.6 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby RX78Spyro » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:51 pm

Thanks for the provided example and the Illustrated guide of Doombuilder, I'll see how it works.

I may have asked the question wrong, because I wanted to use the main keycards (Red, Blue and Yellow) for my current map i'm making on Doombuilder, but I don't know how to bind doors to be openable with a certain keycard.

I hope I've asked my question better.
User avatar
RX78Spyro
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Discord: MNDC#2510

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:34 pm

Attach the special to the a linedef
Spoiler:


or use a script as in the example
Attachments
bluekey.wad
(165.12 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:55 pm

RX78Spyro wrote:Also, Is there a more complete tutorial for Doom Builder available somewhere?

Just to add to that:
DB2, GZDB, GZDBBF, DBX, all come with a Refmanual.chm file, which is the compiled help file for the editor, describing the capabilities for those versions.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby RX78Spyro » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:09 pm

Thanks for the reply, now I know how to add doors who needs a keycard.

As a beginner in mapping, should I still stick with normal DoomBuilder or should I learn how to use GZdoom Builder?
Given the image you showed about the latter, it seems more complete.
User avatar
RX78Spyro
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Discord: MNDC#2510

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:02 am

RX78Spyro wrote:As a beginner in mapping, should I still stick with normal DoomBuilder or should I learn how to use GZdoom Builder? .

Doombuilder2 and GZDoom Builder are no longer supported and therefore will lack the latest features of GZDoom. Therefore I would recommend to use GZDoom Builder - Bugfix. Not only does it have the latest feature support but is also richer in editing features. Once you use GZDBBF, you will not want to go back. The only learning you have to do is using those new editing features. However, all this is at the cost of some overhead, you will notice that it takes longer to load a map or save a map.

Furthermore I would recommend to use UDMF as your mapping format. What this means is that some things can be done directly instead of having to resort to, for example, scripting.

While GZDBBF is excellent for creating maps, you also have to use Slade3 if you want to edit individual lumps, like adding new textures, music, new monsters or weapons, etc.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby RX78Spyro » Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:45 am

Alright, I got the GZDB Bf on it and will begin to use it for now on and learn how it works, thanks for the advice.

I have SLADE 3 installed, but since I'm a newbie coding wise, i'll not use it for now, or maybe to add something gameplay wise, but i'll ask about it in the right part of the forum, it's about adding a glide feature (Jump, press jump again in mid-air to glide).
I have a question about it, can you begin to make a map in GZDB bf, for example, and then continue it with SLADE to incorporate the custom stuff or you have to do the map in SLADE?
User avatar
RX78Spyro
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Discord: MNDC#2510

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:52 am

RX78Spyro wrote:... can you begin to make a map in GZDB bf, for example, and then continue it with SLADE to incorporate the custom stuff or you have to do the map in SLADE?

You could, but you have to load each session separately, ie do not have both open at the same time.

OTOH, if you go the other way and have a map open in Slade3, there is an option to run the map with GZDBBF (select the path in Preferences-Advanced-path_db2) by clicking on a MAPxx lump, so that you do not loose any changes made.

Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby RX78Spyro » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:38 am

Kappes Buur wrote:
RX78Spyro wrote:... can you begin to make a map in GZDB bf, for example, and then continue it with SLADE to incorporate the custom stuff or you have to do the map in SLADE?

You could, but you have to load each session separately, ie do not have both open at the same time.

OTOH, if you go the other way and have a map open in Slade3, there is an option to run the map with GZDBBF (select the path in Preferences-Advanced-path_db2) by clicking on a MAPxx lump, so that you do not loose any changes made.

Spoiler:


If I understand correctly (and the way I ask about things aren't the most clever), I can do a map with GZDB, then I finish making that map, I close the software and then, to add my custom stuff in this map, I open SLADE and get on the customisation of the map, right? Just to be sure.

I think i'll begin to see how SLADE works, if I want to add custom stuff, as I said in the message earlier.
But it's nice that they incorporated this option to run the map made on SLADE to DB.
User avatar
RX78Spyro
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Discord: MNDC#2510

Re: [DB] How can I add doors who requires a colored keycard?

Postby Kappes Buur » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:36 am

Kappes Buur wrote:OTOH, if you go the other way and have a map open in Slade3, there is an option to run the map with GZDBBF (select the path in Preferences-Advanced-path_db2) by clicking on a MAPxx lump, so that you do not loose any changes made.

I should add to this:
While I don't use this feature in Slade3 to open a map with any of the Doombuilder2 family editors myself, I just found out that this works properly only for a vanilla map. Opening a map which uses G/ZDOOM specific resources will not load those resources and therefore be missing.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia


Return to Mapping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest