OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)

OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby slayer87 » Sat Jan 08, 2022 10:00 pm

I apologize if this isn't the correct forum.

I was working on my project (it was recently saved) and my PC froze and restart. I literally updated my Nvidia drivers today and immediately after I started having this problem. (but that's another problem)

Now I can't open my file in Slade or as a resource in Ultimate Doom Builder. An error box says the following:

"Unsupported or invalid archive format"

I've been working on this file for days now. Is there anything I can do? I'm so so frustrated.

Too big for attachment, here on my google drive
PK3 File - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KvCFCc9b8pjq9XzVyM725ZWlF0sWPj-u/view?usp=sharing
PK3 file "bak" file - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cno_1G ... sp=sharing
slayer87
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Logan MTM » Sat Jan 08, 2022 10:50 pm

Do you have any older .bak?
User avatar
Logan MTM
I can see you...
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby slayer87 » Sat Jan 08, 2022 10:58 pm

no i do not
slayer87
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Logan MTM » Sun Jan 09, 2022 10:56 am

So, i recommend starting over from scratch. Or call a forensic analyst.
User avatar
Logan MTM
I can see you...
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Nero » Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:06 am

I poked at both files. Windows compression tools and 7Zip refused to give me any results. I don't have a hex editor installed but it probably wouldn't give me anything anyway. My suggestion is to try one of the tools listed on this page. You might not get everything but worth a shot.
User avatar
Nero
Royal Boredom....Why can't I do this in Windows?
 
Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Location: Middle of Nowheresville Il.

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Kappes Buur » Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:23 am

Bad news.
Both files contain nothing but 00s.

Spoiler:


whereas one should see some data, such as

Spoiler:


starting with PWAD.


Unfortunately that means to either start from scratch
or do a search of your harddrive for an older saved version of the pwad.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Enjay » Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:29 am

Yup. :(

User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Sun Jan 09, 2022 12:18 pm

You could try restoring an earlier version of this file using "Previous versions" dialog if your OS creates restore points/backups.

Other than that, your file may be gone, sorry about that. It's highly recommended to *not* use PK3s during development and to not rely on SLADE's backup system. For proper version control, using folders and controlling them via GitHub is recommended.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby slayer87 » Sun Jan 09, 2022 3:03 pm

Well, thank you for the input from everyone.

I am, admittedly, a noob, when it comes to version control. Perhaps I'll look in to that.

I'm working a rather sizable project that I've been updating on YouTube, so I think some form of version control would be wise.

Thank you.
slayer87
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Logan MTM » Sun Jan 09, 2022 10:40 pm

I recommend doing manual backup every time you start working on something, especially Doom stuffs.
You lost "days", I lost years of work and I feel your pain. :(
User avatar
Logan MTM
I can see you...
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:38 am

slayer87 wrote:I am, admittedly, a noob, when it comes to version control. Perhaps I'll look in to that.


GitHub is actually very easy to set up nowadays. It has a convenient GUI, and it's free, even for private repositories. It's also very convenient to make releasese there. See their starter guide. As for how to use it, you can just turn the folder with the same structure as a PK3 into a repository, it'll be downloadable and runnable as is. For example, here are my repos.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Discord: Agent_Ash#4401
Github ID: jekyllgrim
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: OMG Help! Can't open my PK3 file!

Postby ramon.dexter » Tue Jan 11, 2022 4:58 am

Jekyll Grim Payne wrote:
slayer87 wrote:I am, admittedly, a noob, when it comes to version control. Perhaps I'll look in to that.


GitHub is actually very easy to set up nowadays. It has a convenient GUI, and it's free, even for private repositories. It's also very convenient to make releasese there. See their starter guide. As for how to use it, you can just turn the folder with the same structure as a PK3 into a repository, it'll be downloadable and runnable as is. For example, here are my repos.


Thank you for showing me how to use git. How come I didnt used it before...
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests