$volume doesn't seem to do anything

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)

$volume doesn't seem to do anything

Postby Rowsol » Mon Nov 22, 2021 3:41 pm

I think I'm remembering this right.
$volume <the alias> <volume>
It doesn't seem to have any effect. I don't get any errors either.
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

Re: $volume doesn't seem to do anything

Postby phantombeta » Mon Nov 22, 2021 4:22 pm

Are you trying to make the volume louder? Because if so, yes, it won't do anything- that's intentional.
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: $volume doesn't seem to do anything

Postby Rowsol » Mon Nov 22, 2021 4:35 pm

No, lower.

I'm trying a new mod and the pain sounds are too loud. I went in and added

$volume PlayerPainSmall 0.5

Here's the default sounds
$random PlayerPainSmall {PLAPSM1 PLAPSM2 PLAPSM3 PLAPSM4 PLAPSM5 PLAPSM6 PLAPSM7 PLAPSM8 PLAPSM9 PLAPSM10 PLAPSM11 PLAPSM12}

I tried 0.1 as well, no dice.
Last edited by Rowsol on Mon Nov 22, 2021 4:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

Re: $volume doesn't seem to do anything

Postby phantombeta » Mon Nov 22, 2021 4:37 pm

What happens if you add it to each actual alias individually, instead of adding it to the $random alias? (i.e., "$volume PLAPSM1 0.5", "$volume PLAPSM2 0.5", and so on)
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: $volume doesn't seem to do anything

Postby Rowsol » Mon Nov 22, 2021 4:39 pm

Nope.

This isn't the first time this has come up. I was talking with PillowBlaster about a year ago and we couldn't figure it out either.

I thought maybe the player class was calling the sound directly but it's not.

Code: Select allExpand view
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *xdeath      PlayerDeathScream
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *death      PlayerDeathScream

$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *pain100   PlayerPainSmall
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *pain75      PlayerPainSmall
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *pain50      PlayerPainMedium
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *pain25      PlayerPainBig
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *pain5      PlayerDeathScream

$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *land      PlayerSilence
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *grunt      PlayerLand
$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *jump      PlayerSilence

$PlayerAlias      HellCrusherGuy   HellCrusherGuy   *usefail   PlayerUseFail
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests