Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Postby OkDoomer174 » Thu Sep 09, 2021 6:23 pm

I've been making a new map and it uses markers with attached Strife dialogue to show logs from in-game consoles. However, I can't get it to work. I've tried it with a ShotgunGuy with success, but if I use my custom actor, it doesn't work.

Here's my custom actor in DECORATE:
Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR InfoMarker 10000
{
   Radius 32
   Height 64
   +NOGRAVITY
   +NOBLOCKMAP
   +NOLIFTDROP
   +NOTARGET
   +DONTMORPH
   +DONTSQUASH
   +NOTELEOTHER
   +FLOATBOB
   +NONSHOOTABLE
   States
   {
   Spawn:
      ARRW A 4 Bright
      Loop
   }
}


And here's the ZSDF code:
Code: Select allExpand view
namespace = "ZDoom";
include = "SCRIPT00";

conversation
{
   actor = "InfoMarker";
   page
   {
      name = "Console log";
      dialog = "adsjir8gh0ygh";
   }
}


Any help would be much appreciated.
OkDoomer174
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2020
Location: The Shores of Hell
Discord: TheParadoxBox#5382
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Postby Player701 » Fri Sep 10, 2021 12:48 am

+NOBLOCKMAP should be removed because it prevents your actor from being detected when a line trace is done to check if the player has a conversation target.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Postby OkDoomer174 » Fri Sep 10, 2021 7:33 am

That fixed it. Thanks!
OkDoomer174
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2020
Location: The Shores of Hell
Discord: TheParadoxBox#5382
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GreenLegacy and 0 guests