You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not...

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not...

Postby SPZ1 » Wed Sep 08, 2021 9:35 am

I made an .ipk3 out of my project but there is one problem halting progress that I do not understand :

Code: Select allExpand view
You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not define any new episodes after it.
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby Jarewill » Wed Sep 08, 2021 10:09 am

As the error says, you clear all episodes and don't define any new ones, meaning there will be no way for the player to actually play your game.
You have to include at least one episode with the Episode Definition in MAPINFO.
Jarewill
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2019

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby Gez » Wed Sep 08, 2021 10:19 am

Keep in mind that an episode is mostly a glorified way to tell the game on which map to start a new game. If you don't define any episode, then starting a new game becomes impossible.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby SPZ1 » Wed Sep 08, 2021 11:07 am

I've made it past that problem and into the next one!! GZDoom is telling me that all my Zscript characters already exist!!??

Code: Select allExpand view
SPZ1.ipk3:zscript.lmp, line 57: Class name RGB_Boys_Red__ZScript already exists
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby wildweasel » Wed Sep 08, 2021 11:10 am

Check to see that you aren't somehow loading your file twice (perhaps as a -file alongside it being loaded as an IWAD).
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby SPZ1 » Wed Sep 08, 2021 12:05 pm

That cannot be the problem because I am just drag-and-dropping the file onto GZDoom
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby Jarewill » Wed Sep 08, 2021 12:07 pm

You are loading an iwad as a pwad and then GZDoom probably also loads the iwad again, because it needs one to launch.
Try simply starting GZDoom instead of drag and dropping.
Jarewill
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2019

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby SPZ1 » Wed Sep 08, 2021 12:42 pm

You are right that the program was loading the data twice. I had to make a batch file and use -iwad to make it work properly
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby SPZ1 » Wed Sep 08, 2021 5:21 pm

Sorry for the double post guys but I have another .IPK3 question. I found that my mod's escape menu is purple and this is not preferred! I checked all the MAPINFO and IWADINFO wiki pages and I didn't see anything. :?

PurpleBG.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not.

Postby SanyaWaffles » Wed Sep 08, 2021 5:32 pm

https://zdoom.org/wiki/MAPINFO/GameInfo_definition

use the dimcolor property in MAPINFO's gameinfo block, and the dimamount property.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Never trust floor sandwiches
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ramon.dexter and 1 guest