Page 1 of 2

Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:16 pm
by gman829
So I tried extracting the Cyberdemon from this mod: https://www.moddb.com/mods/embers-of-armageddon/addons/eoa-doom-4-monsters-addon-16
I got everything: The DECORATE, Brightmaps, Sprites, and Sounds, but when putting it in a mod for testing it, it gave me an error.
Fatal Error - GZDoom g4.3.3 64-bit (2020-01-20 22_20_34 +0100) 5_22_2020 1_08_08 PM (2).png
Then when I checked the code, it said this:
SLADE 5_22_2020 1_08_21 PM (2).png

What do I need to fix?

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:22 pm
by Jarewill
The error means that there is no "BFGStunLightning" actor defined anywhere.
You need to define said actor somewhere in your code for it to work.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:26 pm
by gman829
Jarewill wrote:The error means that there is no "BFGStunLightning" actor defined anywhere.
You need to define said actor somewhere in your code for it to work.

How do I define it so it's not "anywhere?"

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:36 pm
by Jarewill
Spoiler:

Though, getting the proper BFGStunLightning definition from the mod would be better.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:42 pm
by gman829
So first I create the BFGStunLightning actor above the ArgentAccuLightning and then what do you mean by "do stuff here?" Do I write what actors to define it to? And if so, how would I write it?

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:47 pm
by Jarewill
By that I meant to write properties and/or states there. You can even leave it simply empty as {} if you want.
However, those two actors inheriting from BFGStunLightning may not work correctly without the original definition, which is probably somewhere in that mod in a different DECORATE file.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:59 pm
by gman829
So I found the definition for BFGStunLightning, put it in the code, but the monster doesn't show up. Instead, the classic red square with a yellow exclamation mark.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 3:17 pm
by Jarewill
Is the editor number for the actor and the placed thing the same?
Any errors logging into the console?

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 4:16 pm
by gman829
I gave the editor number 15001 and there were no errors in the console. Strange since I got all the sprites in the mod...

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 7:04 am
by Jarewill
Hmmm.... Mind showing the code here?
I can only guess so much without it.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 2:50 pm
by gman829
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ETCiYxr2_0iGRnJrsL_gwmglUDuPPnxt/view?usp=sharing
I uploaded it to Google Drive so you can take a look at it.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 2:56 pm
by gman829
The sprites didn't appear in Doom Builder, and I added the BFGStunLightning actor (line 907). I think i need the BFG Stun sprites.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:19 pm
by Jarewill
The problem here is that the sprites aren't being detected as sprites, because they aren't between S_ markers.

You need to add a new "file" named S_START above the CYBIA1 sprite and S_END below the LDFXD0 sprite.

The monster is also missing sprites for it's attacks and SNDINFO definitions of the sounds.

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:20 pm
by gman829
So all I need is to make 2 markers and the SNDINFO lump?

Re: Tried extracting a monster from a mod, and...

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:22 pm
by gman829
And I looked at the sprites the attacks aren't missing.