Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Post Reply
Guest

Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Guest »

Hi all, I would like to mod the BD code in order to be able to cancel reload animations. Anyone have any idea how this could be done? Tired of getting stuck in long assault shotgun reloads at the wrong time. I'd like to be able to cancel a reload animation with a fire, weapon switch, or kick for example. I did notice you can kick in the middle of a shotgun reload, but I think this is because it consists of many quick single reloads until the weapon is full, whereas others are one long animation (just a guess). Any help would be greatly appreciated!
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 870
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

change gun?
Guest

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Guest »

Im not sure what you're asking/saying
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 870
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Cicero Mamblehun wrote:Im not sure what you're asking/saying
to cancel reload, you should be able to switch weapon and switch back or something.
interrupting animations is a bit harder to set up, especially in someone elses code.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Contact:

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by wildweasel »

Dan_The_Noob wrote:
Cicero Mamblehun wrote:Im not sure what you're asking/saying
to cancel reload, you should be able to switch weapon and switch back or something.
interrupting animations is a bit harder to set up, especially in someone elses code.
A Doom weapon won't switch if an animation is currently playing. You can hammer the "next weapon" key as much as you like, the weapon won't switch until it's returned to an A_WeaponReady. Getting that to work mid-reload will involve spamming a lot of A_WeaponReady calls on states that don't have functions on them already, which will be an utter mess. Unless you were to retool the reload code altogether so it all happens on an overlay - which will entail a lot of wheel-reinventing.

In short, this is the kind of stuff you'd have to write your entire mod around from the start, not try to splice into an existing one, least of all one as hopelessly complex as BD.
User avatar
Ac!d
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:13 am
Location: France

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Ac!d »

Go to 'Brutal Doom Options' => 'BD Doom Gameplay Options' => 'Disable Reloading for all weapons'
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 870
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

wildweasel wrote: A Doom weapon won't switch if an animation is currently playing. You can hammer the "next weapon" key as much as you like, the weapon won't switch until it's returned to an A_WeaponReady.
oh, there ya go then.
I've never tried to do anything while reloading other than run and hide
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia
Contact:

Re: Cancelling Reloads in Brutal Doom

Post by Matt »

Dan_The_Noob wrote:change gun?
Won't work for reasons already stated, but what about dropping the gun? Probably a bit of an exploit if it works, but...
Post Reply

Return to “Scripting”