Separate sectors under single sector number

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Separate sectors under single sector number

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:20 am

Here screenshot of a plutonia map11.
https://imgur.com/a/crihz8f
If you look closer on it you will see that there are three different sectors, separate from each other by another sectors, which have same sector number, 30. Same with sectors 6, 38, 22, 107 and several other on the same map.

Question, is there are any native way to determine that some random sector are separate on several different "subsectors", by another sectors or just with one sided lines as completely separate sectors, which have same sector number as mentioned above sectors?
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Separate sectors under single sector number

Postby Jarewill » Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:16 pm

If I recall correctly, there should be a way to link the sectors together without removing the lines.

This should do the trick.
Edit: I didn't read the whole post before posting.... I don't understand what you are asking for, but I'll leave this in case anyone is looking for a way to join sectors together. Sorry.
Jarewill
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2019

Re: Separate sectors under single sector number

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:36 pm

Problem not in map...well it IS map problem, but I cant fix it in all existing wad copies.

What I mean that this create problems when you working with sectors data.
I have script, which in game iterate through sectors by its number (sector 0, sector 1, sector >9000) and collect some data about sector. But when do so it assumes that sector under number X is a single polygon, i.e. that one particular polygon corresponds to one particular number and vice versa.
And such sectors from multiple pieces breaks single mapping from number to sectors. Sector, or its polygonal pieces, still point to one number, but number point to several physically different sectors, and there are no way to find out which exactly sector piece are processed right now.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Separate sectors under single sector number

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 15, 2019 3:46 pm

I'm sorry to break the news to you - but that's how Doom has always been. What do you expect to happen here? There is no data structure that maintains those separate parts in a way that would be usable for your purpose. Sectors in Doom have never been more than a collection of properties - the original Doom editor didn'T even have sectors! They were just created like the nodes when the edited map got processeds by the node builder.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Separate sectors under single sector number

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:00 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:What do you expect to happen here?

Magic.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest