[ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZDoom

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZDoom

Postby Tartlman » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:05 am

I'm trying to make a thing where an actor raises through a thinker, without the need of another actor. RaiseActor() would be ideal for this, but unfortunately the version of GZDoom i'm doing this for (3.2.5) doesn't have that function. Simply setting its health back to max and setting its state to raise doesn't work too well either - it keeps some properties of a corpse, which is (obviously) undesirable. Any suggestions?
User avatar
Tartlman
shitposting with zscript
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2018
Location: meme hell
Discord: bogus#2947

Re: [ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZD

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:35 am

There's Thing_Raise...
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZD

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:37 am

May I ask what's so particular about 3.2.5? Is there anything specific limiting you to precisely that version?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZD

Postby Tartlman » Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:04 am

Graf Zahl wrote:May I ask what's so particular about 3.2.5? Is there anything specific limiting you to precisely that version?


Before i got some better hardware anything after that would randomly crash when launching/loading a save/finishing a level/entering a level, but now i just use it because i like it. So while i'm not limited to it and can run 3.83a fine (albeit with lower framerate), i just feel like using it.

Blue Shadow wrote:There's Thing_Raise...


I'll check that out, thanks!
User avatar
Tartlman
shitposting with zscript
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2018
Location: meme hell
Discord: bogus#2947

Re: [ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZD

Postby Tartlman » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:04 pm

Is there any way i can call thing_raise() directly from another class? like can i do something, where a is a pointer to an actor, that's similar to a.thing_raise()? since from what i've tried, it seems like i can't.
User avatar
Tartlman
shitposting with zscript
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2018
Location: meme hell
Discord: bogus#2947

Re: [ZScript] Simulate RaiseActor() in older versions of GZD

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:14 pm

User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Awario [RSS] and 1 guest