Page 1 of 1

Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 8:02 am
by Hidden Hands
This is really strange. I recently put together a demo of my game. (A single map demo). In the full version, the sky shows up fine but in this demo version there is no sky just a "missing texture" checkerboard effect. Why is this happening? Can someone help me fix it please? I don't want to release it until it's in working order.

Here's a screenshot of whats happening: No sky.
Image

Here's my MAPINFO lump:
Code: Select allExpand view
map MAP01 "Witch Way Now?"
levelnum 1
titlepatch CWILV00
Next endsequence
sky1 SKY1 0
cluster 1
par 30
Noinfighting
music D_SHAWN


// HIDDEN HANDS second cluster
clusterdef 1
flat STORY1
music D_READ_M
exittext "Thank you for playing the DMT demo.
The full game features 32 levels and a
large cast of enemies, weapons and
powerups. Note: Final version will have
many differences to that seen in this
demo.

Jack of Hearts"


And here's my custom rollcall: (Saved as a lump called CLWNCAST)
Code: Select allExpand view
Intermission Inter_Cast
{
   Image
   {
      // This is only here to initialize the background and the music
      Background = "$bgcastcall"
      Time = -1
      Music = "$MUSIC_EVIL"
   }
   Link = ClwnCast
}

Intermission ClwnCast
{
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "RedClown"
      CastName = "Giggles the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "grunt/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "BlueClown"
      CastName = "Crackpot the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "shotguy/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "PinkClown"
      CastName = "Ditso the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "chainguy/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 2, "chainguy/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 3, "chainguy/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "HoboClown"
      CastName = "Rusty the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "chainguy/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 2, "chainguy/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 3, "chainguy/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "PuncturePop"
      CastName = "Puncture Pop"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 2, "imp/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "FloatingClown"
      CastName = "Bhaji the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Melee", 1, "demon/melee"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "GenieClown"
      CastName = "Bhuna the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "skull/melee"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "Ghurst"
      CastName = "Spooky Ghost"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "caco/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "BomBom"
      CastName = "Bom-Bom the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "baron/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "BamBam"
      CastName = "Bam-Bam the Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "baron/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "PropellaHead"
      CastName = "Propella-Head"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "baby/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "CorpseClown1"
      CastName = "Dead Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 2, "skull/melee"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "PuebloClown"
      CastName = "Sacred Clown"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "skeleton/attack"
      AttackSound = "Melee", 1, "skeleton/swing"
      AttackSound = "Melee", 3, "skeleton/melee"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "KlinkBrother1"
      CastName = "Bobby Klink"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "fatso/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 4, "fatso/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 7, "fatso/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "KlinkBrother2"
      CastName = "Ribbon Klink"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "fatso/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 4, "fatso/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 7, "fatso/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "KlinkBrother3"
      CastName = "Popsy Klink"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "fatso/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 4, "fatso/attack"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 7, "fatso/attack"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "WizardClown"
      CastName = "Clown Wizard"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "weapons/rocklf"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 3, "weapons/rocklf"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 5, "weapons/rocklf"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "SorcererClown"
      CastName = "Clown Sorcerer"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "weapons/rocklf"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 3, "weapons/rocklf"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 5, "weapons/rocklf"
   }
   Cast
   {
      CastClass = "BlueWizard"
      CastName = "Clown Mage"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 1, "weapons/rocklf"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 3, "weapons/rocklf"
      AttackSound = "Missile", 5, "weapons/rocklf"
   }
   Link = ClwnCast   // restart cast call
}


Also, when the level ends (it's set to end the game after displaying a thanks for playing screen), it crashes instead of showing the custom rollcall. Not sure why this is happening. When crashed, it can still be paused and exited normally, but it freezes on the whatever was last shown. No rollcall at all?

Hope someone can help.
Thanks in advance.

Re: Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 8:41 am
by Graf Zahl
What does the console say? If you see the checkerboard texture there should be some error message.

Re: Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:52 pm
by Hidden Hands
Image

Ok, this is what I'm getting. Any idea what can fix it?

Re: Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:13 pm
by Graf Zahl
Here's a tip: Use the new MAPINFO format, it'd give you a proper error message. What's wrong here is that 'next endsequence' requires another parameter. It uses the "SKY1" keyword for that and then the "sky1" texture name as a keyword and the "0" as a texture name. But since the old format only provides a list of words the parser has no clue that this is wrong.

There's a reason why a new syntax was invented many, many years ago and this poor error checking was one of the two major factors for it.

Re: Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:20 pm
by Hidden Hands
Ah, okay I didn't even realize there was a new MAPINFO format available. Is there a place I get an example so I can make one? What do you recommend so I can fix it best I can?

Re: Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:29 pm
by Graf Zahl
For now, make sure that the 'next' parameter defines something valid, like 'next endgamec' to get Doom2's cast call. 'endsequence' will require defining a custom end sequence and you'd need the new MAPINFO format for that anyway.

For converting your existing MAPINFO to the new format, use this: https://zdoom.org/files/utils/mapinfoconv.zip

Re: Sky not showing up in game!?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:34 pm
by Hidden Hands
Thanks a ton, that seems to have done the trick. What a strange error. Thanks for helping me fix it, much appreciated!