[DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Post Reply
NaturalTvventy
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:38 am

[DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by NaturalTvventy »

I'd really like to remove the arachnotron's active sound (it grades on me) using DECORATE. I've tried the following, but unsurprisingly they haven't worked:

Code: Select all

actor arachnotronCustom : Arachnotron Replaces Arachnotron
{
	ActiveSound  ""
}

Code: Select all

actor arachnotronCustom : Arachnotron Replaces Arachnotron
{
	-ActiveSound 
}
Do I need to get fancy? Add an "empty" sound? Update SNDINFO?

Much thanks.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by TDRR »

Just try using ActiveSound "weapons/xbowshoot"

That's a Strife sound, so playing it in Doom should have no sound at all.
NaturalTvventy
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:38 am

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by NaturalTvventy »

Unfortunately TDRR That doesn't seem to work. The sound remains.

Code: Select all

actor arachnotronCustom : Arachnotron Replaces Arachnotron
{
	ActiveSound "weapons/xbowshoot"
}
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by TDRR »

This should work.

Code: Select all

actor arachnotronCustom : Arachnotron Replaces Arachnotron
{
ActiveSound ""
states
{
See:
		BSPI A 20
		BSPI A 3
		BSPI ABBCC 3 A_Chase
		BSPI D 3
		BSPI DEEFF 3 A_Chase
		Goto See+1
}
}
NaturalTvventy
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:38 am

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by NaturalTvventy »

Ah, I see what you did there (removed A_BabyMetal). Strangely, this works UNLESS the arachnotron enters its pain state - if so the sound plays as normal after the pain state. However, I found replacing the pain state code with the same exact code from the arachnotron wiki page removes this affect. My final code:

Code: Select all

actor arachnotronCustom : Arachnotron Replaces Arachnotron
{
states
{
See:
      BSPI A 20
      BSPI A 3
      BSPI ABBCC 3 A_Chase
      BSPI D 3
      BSPI DEEFF 3 A_Chase
      Goto See+1
Pain:
    BSPI I 3
    BSPI I 3 A_Pain
    Goto See+1
}
}
Thanks for the help. Let me also say that this makes wandering arachnotrons far more bearable.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by TDRR »

No problem!

Personally i do like how the Arachnotrons make stepping sounds, really useful when they are coming from behind, you can clearly hear them before they attack you.
gramps
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by gramps »

There's also a "dsempty" sound in gzoom.pk3 that's just a blank sound, you should be able to use that where you were using an empty string before.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Contact:

Re: [DECORATE] Remove default monster sound

Post by wildweasel »

gramps wrote:There's also a "dsempty" sound in gzoom.pk3 that's just a blank sound, you should be able to use that where you were using an empty string before.
In fact, please do this; if you're using SNDINFO entries that aren't "supposed" to exist, and somebody happens to load a WAD file that contains the lump name it's looking for, suddenly you're dealing with a whole different brand of annoying sounds.
Post Reply

Return to “Scripting”